Desserts By Dana
122 Delaware Street
New Castle, DE 19720  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free, Lactose Free
Desserts: Cheese, Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (23)   FAQ   Map    
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.5/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.4/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.4/5.0)
Value:
 (4.5/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.5/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amy 5 Reviews
My cake was perfect, beautiful taste great many guest ate my cake but I'm happy I had some to eat
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

7teth25 14 Reviews
We had to find a good bakery that made gluten free cakes due to my medically related dietary issues. Luckily, DBD does offer a good variety and tasty options. Our tasting day went very well, and we were able to choose cakes and fillings we loved. I went back to sit down with Dana to design the cake in another session. I am a very detail oriented person, and this was to be a formal wedding with a vintage twist. I had image inspirations with me and we sat for quite a while drawing and designing a beautiful, elaborate vintage cake that would make your heart stop. I was looking forward to seeing that cake. Unfortunately, on our wedding day, we saw a pretty cake with about 5% of the decorations I had designed with Dana. It was a tasty cake, delicious and edible for me, but just a plain, pretty cake with a bit of fondant sashes and a few buttons. The detail art work, designs, and embellishments were no where to be found. It was a disappointment, but at least my bridesmaids who I had told about the cake and myself, were the only ones who knew the cake design was not what was expected. It was sad, because I had hoped to actually see the vision Dana and I created. The cake that was delivered, was far from it. Again, it still served well, tasted great and served its function. It just wasn't "my" cake. If you need a basic, plain designed cake and gluten free, I'm sure you could easily get that option. I'm going to not recommend this for anyone who wants more than a plain cake and has creative ideas.
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Michelle 6 Reviews
Desserts by Dana did our wedding cake and an assortment of their sampler trays and cookies for our wedding reception. Our cake was exactly how we envisioned it would be. It was a 4 tier cake with buttercream frosting. We had two marble tiers and two amaretto. Everything about it was amazing and delicious. We got so many compliments on how good the cake and desserts were. Everyone at Desserts by Dana were professional and responsive. I wanted a minor last minute addition to the cake and they honored it perfectly. I couldn't have asked for a better experience.
Wedding: 05/23/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding cake was beautiful and so delicious! Wonderful job!
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wedding cake was beautiful and delicious!
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0

Private User 5 Reviews
I loved our cake! Fed 200 and was 3 layers. I picked a classic look with different flavor layers. Tasted great and looked beautiful!
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Yaw 2 Reviews
My wife and I wanted to do something different for our wedding besides the traditional wedding cake. I had heard about Desserts by Dana through a mutual friend, and set up a tasting. I'm really not into pastries or sweets, but let me tell you I couldn't stop eating the frosting samples; they were so good. We decided to do cupcakes instead of big cake. There were so many options offered that our visit was extended. All of them were delicious. I especially liked the chocolate chip cupcake with sweet cream frosting!!! It's a good thing we had the private tasting prior to the wedding because none of the cupcakes were left after our wedding!!! In addition to the cupcakes, they made a smaller red velvet cake that my wife loves, just for us that we were able to cut and photograph.

Working with Dana at Desserts by Dana was a smooth process. They were able to work with and coordinate the cupcake display with our florist to give it that "WOW" factor that we were looking for. Every step of the process, from the tasting to the delivery, was exceptional.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Amazing design, delicious flavors. Truly stunning product.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Dana was fantastic to work with! There are a variety of flavors to pick from and they are all delicious! Dana took my vision and turned it into reality and it was exactly what I wanted!

Thank you!!!
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Erin 11 Reviews
We really enjoyed working with Dana! He was fun to meet with and we enjoyed our tasting in his tasting room and had fun picking flavors-there were so many great ones to choose from! I showed him a photo from Pinterest to give an idea of what I wanted and he customized it to match my theme. We didn't need to chat again and the cake was delivered without a hitch right on time. My fiance and I LOVED it, as did everyone else-the lemon was big hit! Thank you!
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Taylor 2 Reviews
I was very impressed when I went in for my tasting. Dana was able to instantly design a wedding cake of my dreams. He was able to easily draft a cake and was willing to make adjustments as I requested. He spent the time that we wanted to ensure that we had everything that we wanted in the cake. I am not much of a cake person however, his cakes tasted awesome. I am so excited to see and eat our cake on our wedding day 6.14.14.
Wedding: 08/25/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
0.5 out of 5.0
0.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.5
  • Responsiveness:  0.5
  • Professionalism:  0.5
  • Value:  0.5
  • Flexibility:  0.5

Victoria 5 Reviews
I have to say when I went for my cake testing it was great! But when the cake was served at my wedding it was obviously pulled out of the freezer. It was dry, crumbly & not a single person liked it.It was embarrassing.
Wedding: 08/04/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Overall the cake tasted great!!!! It looked beautiful as well. They did mess up the pricing which we had to fix but no biggy and they did that easily. Also the day of they had a little tiff with my florist about flowers on the top of my cake. I said I did not want any on top and my florist confirmed but there were still flowers on top. Luckily it still looked beautiful.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can't say anything but amazing. Cake tasting was perfect and our cake was exactly what we wanted.
Wedding: 07/27/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cake was beautiful . Just what a asked for. The frosting is wonderful and cake was moist.
Wedding: 06/24/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding cake, made by Desserts by Dana, was AMAZING!!!! The many options offered are enough to make one's head spin, especially since all of it is delicious. Working with Netesha at Desserts by Dana was a smooth process, even when I chose to totally redesign the cake after we had agreed on something else. She answered all of my questions and provided pertinent information along the way. Every step of the process, from the tasting to the delivery, was exceptional.
Wedding: 07/18/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 302-721-5798
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0