Country Barn
Beautiful and Unique Lancaster County Weddings
211 S. Donerville Rd
Lancaster, PA 17603  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 400
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (24)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.2/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.3/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (3.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.2/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.1/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Schildt-Deery 1 Reviews
Everyone at the country barn has been fantastic! If I have any questions or concerns about the big day I can just call or stop by. They have all of the information I need and are always willing to help. Amanda in the office is awesome to work with and genuinely cares about each brides big day!
Wedding: [Private]
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our ceremony and reception at the Country Barn was amazing. Everyone raved about how awesome the food was and how beautiful the venue is (and it was!). Farmer Jim was awesome to work with. He's laid back and we meshed well. The grounds are amazing for pictures as well. After the ceremony, we did the hay ride and camp fire, which was such a fun way to end our evening.
Wedding: 09/27/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Farmer Jim owns and runs the country barn. His venue is a working farm and he has restored an 1800s farm into the perfect setting for a ceremony and reception. All of my guests could not get over how beautiful the barn was and how unique of a venue it really was. Farmer Jim was so easy to work with and so kind when dealing with us. He takes great pride in making sure his bride and groom are happy and that their wishes/needs are met. I would recommend this place to everyone. The staff is friendly and there was not one thing out of place on our wedding day.
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.0 out of 5.0
3.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

The Future... 3 Reviews
I absolutely love the country barn. Everything was beautiful and the food was fantastic. I just wish there was the ability for only one event going on per day to reduce stress of having more than one wedding at your venue during your big day.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Over all experience was great with country barn, but i will be honest in my review.

We had many guests comment to us how if it were not for seeing familiar faces, they would not know where to go as they did not know the difference between the stable, barn/barn loft etc. We WERE instructed that they did not provide signs instructing guests where to go, although Jim DID tell us that he would be out directing "traffic" and helping to park cars. Jim was NO WHERE to be found. instead, while we were setting up our venue we had guests from the other wedding, walking through our venue, touching things, looking at things etc. My bridesmaids parents and I instead, were found to be directing guests from another wedding on where to go.

As far as writing things down. DO SO. Jim is NOT consistent in things he tells you. One setting he would tell us one thing and the next he would tell us the opposite. So whatever questions you may have as well as answers you get from Jim, make sure to write it down he will not go by what he once said unless you have written it down. As far as communication goes, jim and his employees do not communicate well with each other, as i said before, jim will say one thing and his help/coordinators will say another.

We also found, along with other reviews, at the end of the day they did what we wanted and asked, but not without a fight. Jim would not so much argue, but he would try and talk you out of certain ideas. I also would ask questions and he would stop me in the middle to tell me that i need to change my attitude. In his defense he wanted me to know that on my wedding day i need to not stress out. But as other brides will understand, if you have a question you want an answer.

I will say, our food was WONDERFUL, the atmosphere/setting was great, and Candice the event coordinator for our venue, was WONDERFUL. She answered all questions, returned all calls and emails promptly and was open to any ideas/ changes we had! She was great!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I will also add, regarding the ALCOHOL policy. I do feel that they are entitled to having an alcohol policy. (we had beer, wine, and ONE liquor with mixers we provided) I find this to be a reasonable policy. Although, Jim had a negative attitude about having alcohol at all, and anytime it was discussed he would question why we need alcohol at all.

We had brought all the alcohol in the morning of the wedding, and 2 hours before the wedding we had to tell the staff to put the beer on ice, and chill the wine in which they had done none of.

Guests drinking on the patio were constantly being reminded of the outside drinking policy, when they were following the policy. (Which we had prior arrangements with jim about what he would, and would not allow for us in taking alcohol on the patio) Again, where the lack of communication comes into play between staff & management. The groomsmen while at the venue waiting for the ceremony to start were not allowed a drop of alcohol, Not even a beer to relax.

Having such a strict alcohol policy we found to be completely understandable and responsible of the venue, although we found them to be a little over the top and sometimes rude in enforcing their policy.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We can't say enough about how hard Farmer Jim, Candice and the entire Country Barn family worked to make our wedding as close to perfect as you can get. (Minus the rain showers) and if they could have changed the weather, they would have. Any idea we came up with they accomplished. The interior is simply stunning and their food was outstanding! Thank you seems inadequate for the superior service, professionalism, kindness and personal interaction they gave us every step of the way. If you want a perfect, dream wedding - choose the Country Barn.
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
The venue was absolutely beautiful. It made the pictures unique and beautiful. I particularly like the package deal they provide. The food was really good, the chicken wasn't a bit dry. The service was great,
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
We can't say enough positive things about working with Farmer Jim and his staff. They made all my dreams come true. From the beginning meeting and falling in love with the location to the final day of all the events, it was all worth all the hard work to see the amazing payoff. The food was incredible, I loved the fact that it was farm to table. They were on top of it!!! The venue it's self is just beautiful!! I can't say thank you enough to all of them.
Wedding: 12/07/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We absolutely loved our reception at Country Barn. The staff was helpful, the food was great and everything went smoothly!
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My daughters wedding at the Country Barn was wonderful! Everything ran so smoothly and the setting was gorgeous! Thank you to Jim, Jay and all the staff for making the day so special!
Wedding: 10/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 2 Reviews
A truly wonderful venue. There are no words to describe how wonderful our wedding was. If you're looking for a down-to-earth rustic wedding, then look no further. The staff at the Country Barn are so easy going and a pleasure to work with. Every part of our wedding was magical - but most importantly the venue. The farm grounds are picturesque and the Loft barn is so unique and beautiful. I wish I could relive it all over again.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 6 Reviews
Overall, we had a good experience with the Country Barn, though I think that an honest review will be helpful to both the staff and to future couples looking at this venue.

First, the atmosphere and overall look of the barn can't be beat- it's beautiful, and it makes for amazing pictures and a great time (open spaces, beautiful brick interior, rustic tables etc).

Second, the food is great and we got tons of compliments on it... I barely ate, but heard rave reviews on the stuffed chicken breast and the pulled pork!! We also loved the farm-to-table concept and it's a great deal for all you're getting.

Other reviewers have commented on the alcohol policy and I'd like to share our experience. I firmly believe that a venue is entitled to creating an alcohol policy, and their policy is reasonably established at "beer, wine, and 1 signature drink". I have no problems with this policy whatsoever, but we did have some issues with their alcohol ATTITUDE of the venue. The staff was sometimes rude to guests about outside alcohol coming in, rather than politely explaining they couldn't have it. A guest was jokingly "chugging" salad dressing because it was so good, and a staff member stormed over to confiscate the "alcohol"-- uh, they were apparently watching guests like school children?
Also, my husband took the kegs in the morning of the wedding and there was no ice or tubs ready as promised, so it was a bit unorganized and hectic trying to flag someone down. In addition, he tapped all of the kegs for the bartenders but they decided to untap one and claim they "weren't serving it", which basically wasted a keg for us.

The Country Barn is definitely making a name for itself and improving upon service, and overall we have received tons of compliments on the wedding, so I would recommend this venue so long as you understand the alcohol policy and can handle slight disorganization with grace.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0
At the end of the night we had not a single regret. The barn is simply beautiful and perfect for our theme. The owner Jim can be difficult to work with and he is not very flexible or informative. He's extremely unorganized, he's very busy and it shows in a negative way. Write EVERYTHING down as he does not and ask a lot of questions because he doesn't offer up any extra (and important) information. It is priced per person but be prepared to spend a lot on up charges. And the bar. We served wine and it was very clear that the staff behind the bar was very new to rather poplar wine flavors. They also ran out of beer glasses very early on and were serving beer in wine glasses for over half the night.
I was most excited about the food since it is all grown and raised on the farm. Unfortunately the meats were extremely dry and my husband said the stuffing in the stuffed chicken was complete mush. The vegetables were tasteless and they only offered one type of salad dressing, which was not previously pointed out. On a positive side, the mashed potatoes were good!
Wedding: 10/06/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
The Country Barn was an amazing venue to have our wedding we were very pleased with how smooth everything went. However there were a few things that could have been done better just small things that we didn’t let bother us during the wedding. We booked our wedding over a year in advance, on the 5 day final count we were asked to change out some of our chairs because he didn’t have enough for the wedding across the street? Why should we make changes when we booked our wedding before the others? Also why would you not have more than enough chairs to accommodate situations just as this? We also had to remind Jim to fix things around the barn, the lights in the walk way and the bird poop on the walk way as well. He did fix the lights but with two different kinds. Never power washed the walk way that had bird poop on it that everyone of our guest had to walk down to get to our wedding, I just feel like some times he has more on his plate then what he can handle.
Wedding: 09/29/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0

Josh 1 Reviews
They are also sticklers on the alcohol for the wedding. I understand not everyone drinks, but if you are running a wedding venue be more open minded to the fact the most people do. All in all it was a great place to have a wedding and we had a blast. The food was great, he provides everything there for you so there is no running around worrying about other companies. Our biggest complaint about this would be our flowers. I would never recommend using his father as a flouriest to anyone for any type of wedding. We meet with him more than once and discussed what type of flowers we wanted for our wedding. We have him free range on our center pieces which were fine. But we were very particular on the bouquets having all white for the bride and burnt orange for the bridesmaids all calla lilies which he clearly understood or we thought. The bridesmaids may have had one calla lily while the bride had a bouquet of random flowers and a few calla lilies throughout. When we asked him what happen? He said that calla lilies are expensive. We met with him enough times and he knew what we wanted, he gave us a quote and we paid him for what we were told we were getting. If he gave us the wrong price on flowers that is not our fault. I don’t know how much calla lilies cost but that was what we wanted and he totally ignored our request and decided to make something up on his own. The worst part about this was, that we emailed them to contact us after our honeymoon to discuss this more. I gave them both phone numbers and email and they have not reached out. Again this is not The Country Barns fault but his father. I would never ever recommend him to anyone. I would however recommend the venue it was beautiful!
Wedding: 09/29/2012
Services Used: Flowers
 717-872-1554
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1
out of 5.0