Clayton Austin
Art Inspired Portrait and Wedding Photojournalism
San Antonio, TX 78213
Style: Portraiture
Packages: High Resolution Images
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (47)   Photos   FAQ    
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.2/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (3.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.1/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.1/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Camille 1 Reviews
I knew that I wanted Clayton Austin to shoot our wedding from the moment I first stumbled upon his work over three years ago. So, naturally, when we got engaged last year, he was the first vendor that we booked! He has an eye and a shooting style that is completely unparalleled in the wedding photography industry - his photos make you feel things. His photos make you feel like you were present at the wedding and you can feel the love between the bride and the groom, which was extremely for us since we were having a super small (immediate family only) destination wedding in Oregon. You know how you build something up so much you're afraid that the reality won't be nearly awesome as you've envisioned? Well that was definitely not the case with Clayton - he far surpassed our expectations and left us with the most breathtaking wedding photos that we will cherish forever.

From the start, Clayton was awesome - we did our engagement shoot with him in Austin and he was extremely easy going and flexible. He also made us laugh and feel comfortable in front of the camera - a big feat considering I'm a photographer and I'm not used to being in front of the lens and my husband hates having his photos taken. The day of our wedding, he was extremely helpful and basically served as our wedding coordinator :). Everyone at our wedding loved him and had a blast that day. When we got our photos back, I cried I was so happy with how they turned out. It was what I had hoped for but even so much more - you could truly see the love between Cody and I and each image helped family and friends who weren't invited feel as if they were there.

Clayton Austin is amazing and I highly recommend him - my husband and I agree that hiring him was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding. Thank you, Clayton, for capturing our day even more perfectly than we could have imagined.
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: Photography
0.5 out of 5.0
0.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.5
  • Responsiveness:  0.5
  • Professionalism:  0.5
  • Value:  0.5
  • Flexibility:  0.5

Private User 1 Reviews
Clayton did not end up shooting my wedding due to a death in the family, however, I do feel my dealings are important to share with future couples. I fell in love with Clayton's photos the moment I saw them. There is no doubt that he is extremely talented. Unfortunately, out of the entire wedding process, I would say picking Clayton was the worst thing I could have ever done. He was extremely unresponsive after booking. I paid him my deposit and there was literally silence. I would email him repeatedly about setting up an engagement session and it would take him weeks to respond. He then proceeded to cancel our session at midnight the night before our shoot claiming camera malfunction. I understood but then setting up a new time was next to impossible with his international travel. It wasn't the fact that he was busy, it was the fact that he was so unresponsive. If If you are planning a wedding in 6 months or even a year, I would say STAY AWAY. You pay for the engagement photos in your package and then he makes it impossible to schedule them. We just went through an ordeal where he wouldn't even respond to my emails requesting the USB so we could get copies of the engagement photos we paid for. Last but not least, he cancelled the day before our wedding due to family issues. I expressed my condolences and truly understood. He yet again just left me hanging at the last minute after so much stress. All the stress was just incredibly unnecessary and I regret my decision to hire him so much. Thankfully, he recommended a replacement photographer who turned out not only take beautiful photos but she's incredibly responsive even with a busy schedule and newborn baby. All I can recommend is stay away if you want a stress-free, drama-free photographer. Clayton is an artist but he is probably the worst business man you will ever meet. I give him a poor rating solely on that. Our engagement photos were nice but nothing special. Just not worth the hassle!
Clayton Austin responded with the following comments:
Hi Reid and Stephanie. I wanted to quickly
comment on this review. I
have to be honest and say that I was really taken aback because until
this morning I was completely unaware of any dissatisfaction in either
my correspondence or business practices. While I am truly sorry that I
canceled the night before your wedding due to my grandfather's passing
I have to be honest and say that there was no way that I was going to
miss his funeral. My grandparents raised me and though I am a business
I am also family man. I just took some time looking through our entire
email correspondences and I feel that all of my responses were very
timely and at most took only a few days in the instances when I was
out of the country. Never in any emails did you express concerns or
regret in hiring me. When I called to inform you of my situation you
seemed very understanding and sympathetic. Per contract I immediately
sought and retained the services of an amazing photographer who made
herself available for your date and you were very satisfied with her
service and images. Even during the engagement session planning
process I was happy to provide several dates and when I rescheduled
again provided dates that would work with your schedules. Im just
surprised you felt so strongly yet never one mentioned this to me
personally or allowed me the opportunity to rectify the situation. I
agree that communication is key and I feel I have a very strong
business model. Obviously you felt otherwise but I would have been
happy to adjust in order to meet your expectations. Im not a lofty or
prideful person. I care about my business and my clients. I wish you
both the best and am sorry again for everything. Best to you both in
Ireland!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Julie 1 Reviews
I LOVED working with Clayton. On my wedding day, I thought numerous times how glad I was that I hired him. I understood what he was doing artistically and had no worries about the quality I what he was producing. He shared his vision numerous times and had no problem communicating what looked good and what didn't in the photos. I trusted him completely on that day and wasn't stressed or worried.
But what completely surpassed my happiness with Clayton on that day were the results in the actual photos. Every single one is a work of art. He captured the nuances of my decor and every detail and every important moment.
I hired Clayton because of the quality of his past work, his philosophy concerning "the goodness", and his policies concerning how the client gets their photos in their hands. Clayton did not nickel-and-dime us after the photos were taken, and did not make us choose a certain number. He gave us the soft copy of every photo he took with the rights to reproduce included in the rate he originally quoted us. I honestly could not be more pleased with anyone professionally, artistically or personally as I have been with Clayton as our wedding photographer.
Wedding: 01/01/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Erica 2 Reviews
Clayton Austin is something super cool! I searched for weeks on-line trying to identify a photographer that I felt gave a unique perspective on wedding photography. My husband and I wanted something different, something that didn't have a staged feel for our photos. When I happened upon Clayton's site, I was smitten! When we met him, it solidified our smitteness(if that's a word!). We had a great time working with him on our engagement shots, rehearsal dinner, and actual wedding day. We are anxiously awaiting the final product, but our engagement shots were ROCKSTAR quality and we can't imagine we will get anything less from the big day! He was quite flexible with us and was open to entertaining different ideas we presented. But, one should know that he is a natural light photographer and that requires certain time frames and settings for him to work his magic, and that he only shoots in black and white for the reception(which we dug!). Overall, we really enjoyed working with him. His humor was refreshing and his talent boundless!
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: Photography
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Clayton is a true creative genius and was a pleasure to work with. His photos speak for themselves!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Tyne 1 Reviews
Clayton Austin is wonderful!

He worked with our budget.
He was flexible with changes to the plan hours before the wedding.
He is experienced and knows how to handle the in and outs of a wedding.

Our photos were lovely! There were many options to choose from but very much in his amazing style. What Clayton is most gifted in is making couples look great. He knows how people photograph best. He gives very explicit directions as to where to look, what to do with your hands, and what to be doing with each other. He makes this part really fun!




Wedding: 06/08/2013
Services Used: Photography
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Sarita 1 Reviews
Clayton's pictures all looked amazing. There is no dispute when it comes to his cinematic photography skills producing the picturesque reflections of an wonderful wedding day. The only thing we would have wanted included were the flower girls and boys in the wedding party and more photos of us with our friends. His concentration was definitely more bride and groom centric but we knew that going with Clayton. He was also one photographer versus many other who often come in a group with assistants. Overall, we were very pleased and happy with the results captured.
Wedding: 05/04/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Clayton is an amazing photographer, plain and simple. I am also a photographer, so I was very picky in choosing him. Our photos turned out beautifully, and captured our event just how I remember it. We had an outdoor wedding and reception, so I wanted someone who I knew could handle any kind of weather condition. I would highly recommend Clayton for his amazing skill and professionalism during our engagement and wedding sessions. Don't balk at the price, with wedding photography, you get what you pay for! You will not be disappointed and will be so happy in the end.
Wedding: 03/23/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I loved working with Clayton! He was easy to work with, very professional, made my husband and I incredibly comfortable in front of the camera, and created absolutely BEAUTIFUL photos. I highly recommend him!!
Wedding: 03/16/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Andrew 1 Reviews
My wife and I worked with Clayton for both our engagement photo shoot and the wedding. Clayton is fantastic on both sides of the camera. The photos that we received were beautifully shot in Clayton's unique artistic style. Furthermore, Clayton's personality put the wedding party at a ease and added to the memories of the day.

-Andrew
Austin, Texas
January 26, 2013
Clayton Austin responded with the following comments:
Thanks for the review Andrew! It was so great getting to know you both!
Wedding: 01/26/2013
Services Used: Photography
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were thrilled to have Clayton photograph our wedding! I've been following his work for some time, and knew that I wanted him to be our photographer. He is definitely an artist, and the quality of his work speaks for itself! He is also incredibly charming and easy going in person and blended well with all our family and friends at the wedding. The one issue we had with Clayton is that he can often be difficult to reach. This can be difficult, especially if you are the type of bride who needs immediate responses from your vendors. That being said, he was always where he needed to be when he said he would be. Also keep in mind that Clayton tends to be pretty busy and travels a lot, so as frustrating as it may be during the wedding planning process not to receive instant responses, try to relax. Our end result was well worth it all.
Wedding: 01/12/2013
Services Used: Photography
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Bethany 1 Reviews
Clayton provided us with an invaluable gift. When we woke up the morning after our wedding, we had all these amazing memories that we honestly thought we had manipulated in our heads to be even better than reality, or more informed by our emotions. Once we received our images, it was confirmed: our day was indeed as beautiful, emotionally charged and special as we had imagined- and all was *perfectly* captured by Clayton. We were a fairly laid-back couple, and had a bike procession between our ceremony and reception- we didn't really have a detailed plan, but Clayton mirrored us and rolled with it. If you need to plan things and micromanage or dictate exactly how your day goes, perhaps Clayton isn't your guy, because you would risk stifling his talents. But if you plan everything else, show up and remain present in your celebration, Clayton will be there in the wings capturing your very best side, the most candid moments, the perfect light- and your love.
Clayton Austin responded with the following comments:
Best. Wedding. Ever. I cant thank you and MAteo enough for your graciousness and warm spirits. This was such a great day for everyone and I am thankful to know you. And thank you for introducing me to Marfa!
Wedding: 01/01/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Erika 1 Reviews
Clayton is an amazing photographer. He really gets to know his clients and their style and I think that is reflected in all his photographs. His attention to detail and creative skill resulted in some of the most beautiful wedding photographs I have ever seen. Just look at his body of work, which is available in so many places online. He also does a wonderful job mixing in photographs that commemorate the entire day, including design detail, setting and your guests. When you look back you have photographs that transport you back. I still can't believe some of ours when I look at them as he captured so many special moments between individuals as well as beautiful pictures of our historic setting. They are just the right mix of enchanting and quirky. He's really fun to work with, flexible and very laid back throughout the entire process. My entire experience was wonderful and I would recommend him to anyone who really places importance on quality work that you will be able to keep for years to come. Once you do, the hardest part will be trying to decide which photographs to print since you'll love them all.
Wedding: 12/22/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Clayton Austin is more than you could ever hope for in a photographer. There are no words necessary after looking at his images to explain how incredible he really is. I would hire him for the quality and perfection of his photos alone, but BONUS--- his personality is radical. I had the highest expectations when I hired Clayton as I had followed his work for years prior to my engagement =) He met them all. I would recommend him (and have) to anyone who would listen to me. Hire him. You will never be disappointed!! I spent the majority of my budget on him as I had a smaller wedding... both my father and fiance thought I was foolish.. however the day after my wedding when Clayton's blog went up of our photos.... the apologies for doubting me were flying out of both of them =) He is SO worth it. His photography is worth it. It's all you will have to capture the memories of that glorious day. You can't get anyone better to share it with you!
Wedding: 11/09/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The BEST experience of my wedding (other than marrying my sweetie of course). Clayton was not only a blast to work with and so so so accommodating by keeping me as calm as I could once we got close to the big moment, he was so professional and easy to work with.

His work speaks for itself but if you're looking the best photographer you could ever have to capture the most special and memorable day of your entire life, then Clayton is your man :)
Clayton Austin responded with the following comments:
Vegas baby! We miss y'all. Lets do sushi soon!
Wedding: 11/04/2012
Services Used: Photography
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
Clayton's work speaks for itself. High quality overall. Due to his schedule being so booked, he is difficult to get a hold at times. That being said, when you are able to get a hold of him, he is very flexible. While working the event, he did an overall good job. We do wish we had more photographs from the event itself that were available to us. He does cost a pretty penny but again, his work speaks for itself. He did provide a nice touch with the copies of the photos that he sent on a USB drive to us with a custom made 2''x2'' wedding photo book.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
 210-485-9286
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1
out of 5.0