Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Best of the Best of BedandBreakfast.com Awards 2011 - 2012: Travelers' Choice Award
    40 Reviews
236 Caroline street
Orange, VA 22960  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 200
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (40)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amanda 2 Reviews
 
We can't believe how quickly our wedding day has come and gone.. (it's kinda sad). But we wanted to say how wonderful our stay was at Chestnut Hill!  Troy, Kathleen and Brandin were so helpful in planning our big day.  From the wonderful officiant, gorgeous venue, tent lining, and table linens to the delicious breakfast and friendly phone calls making sure everything was coming along with our wedding plans (& a hundred other things).  Everyone was so nice and welcoming when we arrived through our departure; it made us feel right at home.  I can't tell you enough how appreciative we are for all they did.  We will definitely be back!
Wedding: 09/20/2013
Services Used: Officiant, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I absolutely LOVED Chestnut Hill! The setting couldn't be more beautiful and Troy and Kathleen know so much about weddings! They were very helpful and very knowledgeable. Everyone who came to the wedding was absolutely gaga over the many features of the place, and those who stayed over can't stop talking about how good their food is! I would highly recommend to any couple!
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
We choose Chestnut Hill for our elopement and the owners Kathleen and Troy made it an amazing experience of us.

From the start of booking our elopement, Kathleen and Troy made it an easy and stress free process by asking all of the right questions and making all of the arrangements. The elopement package was perfect for our needs - it included a celebrant to perform the ceremony, the bouquet and boutineer, a cake (delicious!), rose petals down the aisle, engraved champaign flutes, and their services for booking dinners and giving us ideas for things to do around the area. They also booked a horseback ride as part of the elopement package for the day after we got married, which we really enjoyed.

From the moment we arrived at Chestnut Hill, we immediately felt comfortable with Kathleen and Troy as if we had known them for years. They were both welcoming and kind, but remained professional and focused on what they needed to do. The wedding day itself went smoothly and beautiful thanks to all their planning. I didn't even need to worry about any of the details because they were all taken care of for us!

The Bed and Breakfast itself was beautiful and comfortable for our three night stay. The breakfast every morning was delicious as were the appetizers that they served in the evening. We stayed in the bridal suite on the third floor which spacious and luxurious. The grounds of Chestnut Hill were beautiful and well maintained, perfect for wedding pictures - there is a beautiful fountain in the back perfect for wedding ceremonies,

Chestnut Hill was the perfect place for our elopement. Thanks Kathleen and Troy for helping make memories that we will cherish forever!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband Joshua and myself just want to thank you for everything Troy & Kathleen did. One year ago I was purposed to, and 3 days after that I was sitting in Troy's office planning our wedding with one of my bridesmaids. A year later we had the most easy going, beautiful, affordable wedding! We were so impressed with the professionalism of the owners and staff, the beauty of the home, and it was right in my home town! Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your kind words of encouragement, all the help along the way and the memories that will last a lifetime! I will tell everyone I know looking for a venue about you all!
Wedding: 08/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
WOW! I was beyond pleased with my experience with Troy and Kathleen. They were so responsive and helpful leading up to the wedding and they gave great suggestions along the way. Our weekend at Chestnut Hill exceeded my wildest expectations. The food.. amazing. The hospitality... amazing. The organization... amazing. As most brides know, there are hiccups on the wedding day, Troy and Kathleen worked so hard to make these unnoticeable and only brought them to my attention if it was absolutely necessary. I can't wait to spend a relaxing weekend with them in the future. They made my wedding experience smooth and unforgettable :)
Wedding: 08/24/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kathleen and Troy provided phenomenal service for my elopement on August 14, 2013. Chestnut Hill B&B was the first time my now husband and I have ever experience. We were married during the week, which many of our family/friends were unable to attend, but turned out to be the best decision we made. We were apprehensive in the beginning because we did not have a clue whether our elopement was going turn out perfect without me coordinating anything. Thanks to Kathleen, she put my worries to rest. Thanks to Teresa, for beautifying the bridal suite where we stayed. We went horseback riding at Oakland Heights Farm with David who was educational during the tour, as well as, having a hilarious sense of humor. We also went to Barboursville Vineyard to sample 19 different wines. Chestnut Hill B&B landscaping was extremely exquisite, while the inside was very warm and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and the blueberry & pineapple tea was fabulous. We meet other guest during our stay and they were pleasant just like Kathleen and Troy. Kathleen and Troy treated us a part of their family and we really appreciate how they made our wedding day so special. <3 T'nia & Thomas
Wedding: 08/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kathleen & Troy were absolutely wonderful. They made planning the ceremony and reception easy and are very knowledgeable about the planning process. The tent and ceremony site easily accommodated our 170 guests. The parking situation and shuttle services worked out flawlessly, and those guests staying at the Comfort Inn (within walking distance), greatly appreciated the rides. We had the bridal party stay at the Inn with us and they all loved their rooms. Breakfast each morning was delicious and left everyone full and ready for a pre- or post-wedding nap. If we had it to do all over again we wouldn't change a thing. For any prospective brides/grooms, just know that these two people will work very hard for you on and before your special day. They are reasonably priced and worth every penny. <3 Kasey and Timmy
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Troy and Cathleen are amazing people with an amazing Bed and Breakfast! We fell in love with Chestnut Hill the first time we arrived on site. We knew it was the place for our wedding. Once you go to the top of the hill and see the grounds you will have no idea that you are in the middle of a little town, it feels so secluded. The fountain was the perfect site for our ceremony and the tent was exactly what we were looking for, the location was perfect for our outdoor wedding vision.

Troy and Kathleen worked with us through the entire process and were always responsive and accomodating. They helped coordinate vendors, held meetings onsite, and helped us wirte our ceremony. They catered to our every need and made sure our wedding was perfect. We had our Rehersal Dinner at the Inn also and they arranged for the tables and chairs to be ready for that. All of our guests that started at the Inn received 5 Star treatment and are still talking about what a wonderful time they had at Chestnut Hill.

Troy and Kathleen thought of everything..they organized last minuet Valet service for the Rehersal Dinner, made special arrangements for my husband and me to have Gluten free foods, lead the Ceremony, and ensured that everything went smoothly. I honestly can not say enough about Chestnut Hill and Troy and Kathleen. Would make the same decision to have our wedding here again and again.

You will NOT be dissapointed with this venue!
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kelly 5 Reviews
We had our Rehearsal, Wedding and a Mother's Day breakfast at Chestnut Hill and there are no words to expresss how wonderful our experience was. Troy, Kathleen and staff are absolutely the best. They were there for us every step of the way. Our friends and family can't stop raving about Chestnut Hill and how gorgeous everything was and how at home they felt. The house and grounds are beautiful. If you have never been then you must go. You will not be disappointed. We cannot say thank you enough to them for their help in making our wedding the best.
Wedding: 05/11/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Elizabeth 6 Reviews
I was married at Chestnut Hill B&B on April 6, 2013 and it was the best decision my husband and I had made for our wedding. Not only are the grounds and B&B gorgeous for a wedding ceremony and reception, but we had the entire B&B from Friday until Sunday making it not just a wedding day but wedding weekend with all our friends and family! Our bridal party raved about their stunning rooms and the delicious breakfasts they served each morning making it a care free experience.

It was so convenient having both the ceremony and reception onsite and having innkeepers Troy and Kathleen handle all the venue details and arrangements insuring a successful and smooth running wedding. Troy and Kathleen are the best innkeepers ever and made sure we had the wedding I had always dreamed of having. No detail was unlooked and they communicated well with me all throughout our year long planning process.

My husband and I are also happy we chose Chestnut Hill for our wedding because it gives us an excuse to return every year for our anniversary!
Wedding: 04/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Greetings,

My name is Jarrod Roebuck. My new wife Tinsley and I were blessed to be fortunate enough to have our wedding at Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast. After looking at other local venues there was nothing as beautiful and affordable as Chestnut Hill B&B. The amenities, equisite rooms and decor was breath taking both indoors and outdoors. We wanted to marry sooner than we thought; giving Troy and Kathleen only about a month to help us coordinate our wedding and they did more than we could ask! Both Troy and Kathleen suggested ideas for our wedding that will leave memories for not only Tinsley and I, but for our family as well. My wife felt so relieved to be able to get ready for the wedding in the bridal suite where she was able to feel like a queen for a day! We both felt relieved not having to worry about anything because Kathleen and Troy went far and beyond to make sure all of our needs and desires were met. The elegant apetizers and wedding cake were both mouth watering; along with our refreshing beverage of choice that was served to our guest. Tinsley and I could not have asked for a better place to have our wedding! To Troy, Kathleen; and your wait staff, we say, "Thank You"! May God bless you all.


Your Truly,

Mr. and Mrs. Jarrod W. Roebuck
Wedding: 03/03/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Just an AMAZING setting and wonderful home to join our families together. This is a hidden gem in Va! Our families were so happy to be part of our elopement and it was just wonderful to find such fantastic place. This is the place for Love!
Wedding: 02/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We just eloped at Chestnut Hill Bed and Breakfast yesterday!!! We cannot say enough wonderful things about Troy and Kathleen. They made our wedding perfect all the way down to the smallest detail. They both really cared about us and our wedding. You don’t find people like that every day. They made us and our few guests feel extremely welcome and at home for our entire stay. Troy and Kathleen both made it a point to ask us exactly what we wanted and how we wanted it done and they MADE it happen. My flowers were gorgeous, the cake was delicious, ALL the food was out of this world delicious. It was a beautiful stress free day and that is exactly what I wanted. Everything ran smoothly and seamlessly. My five year old daughter was following the house keeper around and kept coming back with little cookies or cut up apples just for her. I also found out later that my daughter was helping the house keeper with laundry. They all were extremely kind to her.
When we went to dinner that night the restaurant had our names and “Congratulations” printed inside the menu! When we got back to our room that night our bed was covered in rose petals with our left over cake and champagne chilling by the bed. Details, details, details. My husband and I are by no means millionaires but we sure did feel like we were the past few days.
We stayed in the Alexander Daly Suite and it was beautiful and so luxurious. I did not want to leave!! My parents stayed in the room down the hall and my father wanted to load the bed up into his car somehow and take it home with him. He said it was just perfect in every way imaginable.
I would recommend getting married here to every person I know. It could not have been more perfect. I cannot think of one negative thing to say. Drive to Orange VA to get married at Chestnut Hill Bed and Breakfast!!!!
Stephanie Peters
Wedding: 02/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kathleen and Troy have a beautiful venue for any wedding. They go overboard to make the event special. The house is gorgeous and living accomdations are amazing. Food was excellent in all aspects.

Thank you for makling my daughter and son-in-laws wedding a perfect day for them. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Wedding: 01/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
There are not enough stars in the rating scale to reflect the outstanding level of service, responsiveness, and professionalism that Kathleen and Troy deliver consistently at one of the most beautiful inns in Virginia. With extremely short notice, they put together an intimate family wedding weekend that was well beyond our expectations. Troy and Kathleen took care of every detail, offering alternatives for each activity to customize it for us. They entertained every suggestion of our own, offering their perspective of what has worked well and what they have seen that has disappointed people. Every bit of their advice was spot on, including the schedule, additional services, local hairstylists, food providers, transportation, and photography. No matter what their own schedule might be hosting guests at the Chestnut, the owners were always calm; that helped us relax and enjoy our weekend. Kathleen and Troy - and their inn - are so warm that we felt as though we were at home with family. Thanks to them, we had the wedding of our dreams.
Wedding: 01/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My Husband and I chose the Elopement Package. Turned out to be the most intimate ceremony I could have ever wished for. Troy and Kathleen planned everything to perfection. The wedding officiant was the warmest person, you would think he knew us forever. We had our parents, kids and siblings and the finishing touches, of Troy’s recommended ideas, made my dream come true for 'Small & Intimate'

Thank you both for such a wonderful experience. We will have this moment for life!!!!

Wedding: 12/22/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Officiant, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 540-661-0430
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0