Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Best of the Best of BedandBreakfast.com Awards 2011 - 2012: Travelers' Choice Award
    49 Reviews
236 Caroline street
Orange, VA 22960  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 200
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (49)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Gigi 1 Reviews
Chestnut Hill Bed and Breakfast is elegance at its finest. I knew from the very first time we laid our eyes on the house this was THE place and ONLY place to have our wedding! The owners and staff at Chestnut Hill put us at ease for the biggest day of our lives from the very beginning of the planning process. They never made us feel as though we were asking too many questions. If anything, they welcomed our questions and concerns. They treated us like family! The day of our wedding they WERE our family! Kathleen, one of the owners even took our four-legged daughter, Paris for a walk!!!! Simply put Chestnut Hill was our "Paris" in the summer time. Thank You so much Troy, Kathleen and Lea for your professionalism, your responsiveness and most importantly, your quality of service. Chestnut Hill is in our opinion a Five Star Bed & Breakfast!
Wedding: 07/26/2014
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Chestnut Hill would be a perfect place to get married, whether you want a traditional wedding or are eloping. First, the owners, Troy and Kathleen, are the friendliest people you will ever meet. They work very hard to make sure their guests are fully satisfied during their stay. They took care of absolutely everything for our elopement. Also, the building and property is so beautiful, it was the perfect backdrop for our wedding. My husband and I are so happy with our choice to get married and Chestnut Hill. We are already planning to come back for our first anniversary. We recommend this B&B to everyone.
Wedding: 07/23/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We got married with an elopement package this past weekend. When we were looking into venues for our wedding we had an idea, Chestnut Hill was the second venue we looked at and as soon as we left me and my husband agreed this was it. Troy, Kathleen and the entire Chestnut Hill staff are amazing. The wedding went off without any issues and was absolutely beautiful. All of our guests were truly impressed with the house as well as the staff. The food was also amazing. My husband and I look forward to returning for our anniversary. Thank you Troy, Kathleen and Staff for making our day wonderful :)
Wedding: 07/20/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lauren 1 Reviews
Absolutely amazing from start to finish. A year before my wedding I made a list of venues to check out. I never went into any venue with the intention to book right away since I could take my time before committing. Chestnut Hill was venue number 5 of 10. When my parents and I went on a tour of the B&B they wanted to book right away. I did too but given that I had time I was nervous to commit so quickly. I went on one more scheduled tour of a different venue later that evening and after 15min I literally called Chestnut Hill to book my June wedding. It was the best decision I made!

Just looking at the front of the B&B I never knew that it would be so HUGE and the grounds so gorgeous! The interior of the B&B is impressive each room, bathroom, and common area look like something you would find in a magazine. The tent where receptions are held is amazing it provides brides with the ability to really personalize their wedding- any theme will go in a white tent. Troy and Kathleen really care about what they do and truly KNOW the wedding industry which was so appreciated since I needed all the help I could get. My wedding day went without a hitch which I know had everything to do with Troy, Kathleen, and their wedding coordinator Lea. Guest were amazed with the property. I still hear from people that it was the most beautiful wedding they have every been to. If you want a gorgeous wedding do not hesitate to book with Chestnut Hill B&B! There is a reason they have a perfect rating on Wedding Wire and Yelp.
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Troy and Kathleen were absolutely wonderful when helping plan our perfect wedding day! The rooms were amazing and everything went very smoothly. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. We can't wait to come back and visit for anniversaries or just for fun. The grounds are gorgeous! We couldn't have asked for a better place to get married. :)
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The first time my daughter Caitlin and I saw Chestnut Hill and meeting with Troy and Kathleen we knew that we had found the perfect location for her wedding. The whole week end was perfection... even the pouring rain during rehearsal because the day of the wedding was spectacular! From the moment we arrived Troy and Kathleen made us feel so welcome. The rooms were so beautiful and clean. The home made cookies were also addictive! Breakfast each morning and the afternoon snack while preparing for the wedding was a delightful treat.
I can't say enough how beautiful the B&B really is for a wedding and reception. The garden setting for the ceremony was truly breathtaking.
As an event planner for over 16 years I am so pleased that Troy, Kathleen and Leah were part of our wedding day. I know what goes into planning a wedding and I can't say enough how much I appreciated their professionalism and personal attention we received in welcoming our family to their home for our very special day!
Wedding: 04/26/2014
Services Used: Ceremony Music
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our son and his wife were married at Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast last weekend - 4/12/14
and we can't say enough wonderful things about our experience. We were amazed at the incredible service, thoughtful details. As parents of the groom we were the guests not the organizers, but spending the weekend there made it a very memorable event. The grounds are beautiful, the breakfast - WOW! Troy and Kathleen are so personable, helpful, accommodating, thoughtful, - I could go on but you get the idea - we were IMPRESSED! As I said to Troy I can't think of anything they could do better, there is good reason this is a 5 star venue.
Wedding: 04/12/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Words can't explain what a great wedding experience we had at Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast on April 12, 2014. It was the perfect place to get married not only because it is a BEAUTIFUL place, but also because the owners (Troy and Kathleen) and the staff are so accommodating and help you every step of the way. They provided us with great vendor recommendations and made sure everything went smoothly during the rehearsal and day of the wedding. They truly care and are invested with every wedding they have there. The bridal suite and their other rooms are gorgeous and so comfortable. And the h'orderves and breakfast they provide are to die for. Definitely recommend getting married at Chestnut Hill!!! Can't say enough positive things :) We can't wait to come back each year around our anniversary and stay as guests.
Wedding: 04/12/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amanda 2 Reviews
 
We can't believe how quickly our wedding day has come and gone.. (it's kinda sad). But we wanted to say how wonderful our stay was at Chestnut Hill!  Troy, Kathleen and Brandin were so helpful in planning our big day.  From the wonderful officiant, gorgeous venue, tent lining, and table linens to the delicious breakfast and friendly phone calls making sure everything was coming along with our wedding plans (& a hundred other things).  Everyone was so nice and welcoming when we arrived through our departure; it made us feel right at home.  I can't tell you enough how appreciative we are for all they did.  We will definitely be back!
Wedding: 09/20/2013
Services Used: Officiant, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I absolutely LOVED Chestnut Hill! The setting couldn't be more beautiful and Troy and Kathleen know so much about weddings! They were very helpful and very knowledgeable. Everyone who came to the wedding was absolutely gaga over the many features of the place, and those who stayed over can't stop talking about how good their food is! I would highly recommend to any couple!
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
We choose Chestnut Hill for our elopement and the owners Kathleen and Troy made it an amazing experience of us.

From the start of booking our elopement, Kathleen and Troy made it an easy and stress free process by asking all of the right questions and making all of the arrangements. The elopement package was perfect for our needs - it included a celebrant to perform the ceremony, the bouquet and boutineer, a cake (delicious!), rose petals down the aisle, engraved champaign flutes, and their services for booking dinners and giving us ideas for things to do around the area. They also booked a horseback ride as part of the elopement package for the day after we got married, which we really enjoyed.

From the moment we arrived at Chestnut Hill, we immediately felt comfortable with Kathleen and Troy as if we had known them for years. They were both welcoming and kind, but remained professional and focused on what they needed to do. The wedding day itself went smoothly and beautiful thanks to all their planning. I didn't even need to worry about any of the details because they were all taken care of for us!

The Bed and Breakfast itself was beautiful and comfortable for our three night stay. The breakfast every morning was delicious as were the appetizers that they served in the evening. We stayed in the bridal suite on the third floor which spacious and luxurious. The grounds of Chestnut Hill were beautiful and well maintained, perfect for wedding pictures - there is a beautiful fountain in the back perfect for wedding ceremonies,

Chestnut Hill was the perfect place for our elopement. Thanks Kathleen and Troy for helping make memories that we will cherish forever!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband Joshua and myself just want to thank you for everything Troy & Kathleen did. One year ago I was purposed to, and 3 days after that I was sitting in Troy's office planning our wedding with one of my bridesmaids. A year later we had the most easy going, beautiful, affordable wedding! We were so impressed with the professionalism of the owners and staff, the beauty of the home, and it was right in my home town! Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your kind words of encouragement, all the help along the way and the memories that will last a lifetime! I will tell everyone I know looking for a venue about you all!
Wedding: 08/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
WOW! I was beyond pleased with my experience with Troy and Kathleen. They were so responsive and helpful leading up to the wedding and they gave great suggestions along the way. Our weekend at Chestnut Hill exceeded my wildest expectations. The food.. amazing. The hospitality... amazing. The organization... amazing. As most brides know, there are hiccups on the wedding day, Troy and Kathleen worked so hard to make these unnoticeable and only brought them to my attention if it was absolutely necessary. I can't wait to spend a relaxing weekend with them in the future. They made my wedding experience smooth and unforgettable :)
Wedding: 08/24/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kathleen and Troy provided phenomenal service for my elopement on August 14, 2013. Chestnut Hill B&B was the first time my now husband and I have ever experience. We were married during the week, which many of our family/friends were unable to attend, but turned out to be the best decision we made. We were apprehensive in the beginning because we did not have a clue whether our elopement was going turn out perfect without me coordinating anything. Thanks to Kathleen, she put my worries to rest. Thanks to Teresa, for beautifying the bridal suite where we stayed. We went horseback riding at Oakland Heights Farm with David who was educational during the tour, as well as, having a hilarious sense of humor. We also went to Barboursville Vineyard to sample 19 different wines. Chestnut Hill B&B landscaping was extremely exquisite, while the inside was very warm and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and the blueberry & pineapple tea was fabulous. We meet other guest during our stay and they were pleasant just like Kathleen and Troy. Kathleen and Troy treated us a part of their family and we really appreciate how they made our wedding day so special. <3 T'nia & Thomas
Wedding: 08/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kathleen & Troy were absolutely wonderful. They made planning the ceremony and reception easy and are very knowledgeable about the planning process. The tent and ceremony site easily accommodated our 170 guests. The parking situation and shuttle services worked out flawlessly, and those guests staying at the Comfort Inn (within walking distance), greatly appreciated the rides. We had the bridal party stay at the Inn with us and they all loved their rooms. Breakfast each morning was delicious and left everyone full and ready for a pre- or post-wedding nap. If we had it to do all over again we wouldn't change a thing. For any prospective brides/grooms, just know that these two people will work very hard for you on and before your special day. They are reasonably priced and worth every penny. <3 Kasey and Timmy
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Troy and Cathleen are amazing people with an amazing Bed and Breakfast! We fell in love with Chestnut Hill the first time we arrived on site. We knew it was the place for our wedding. Once you go to the top of the hill and see the grounds you will have no idea that you are in the middle of a little town, it feels so secluded. The fountain was the perfect site for our ceremony and the tent was exactly what we were looking for, the location was perfect for our outdoor wedding vision.

Troy and Kathleen worked with us through the entire process and were always responsive and accomodating. They helped coordinate vendors, held meetings onsite, and helped us wirte our ceremony. They catered to our every need and made sure our wedding was perfect. We had our Rehersal Dinner at the Inn also and they arranged for the tables and chairs to be ready for that. All of our guests that started at the Inn received 5 Star treatment and are still talking about what a wonderful time they had at Chestnut Hill.

Troy and Kathleen thought of everything..they organized last minuet Valet service for the Rehersal Dinner, made special arrangements for my husband and me to have Gluten free foods, lead the Ceremony, and ensured that everything went smoothly. I honestly can not say enough about Chestnut Hill and Troy and Kathleen. Would make the same decision to have our wedding here again and again.

You will NOT be dissapointed with this venue!
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 540-661-0430
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0