Chef by Design Catering Co.
Let Our business be Your pleasure
    25 Reviews
5318 Fairfield Shopping Center
Virginia Beach, VA 23464  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French...
Bar services: Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
Alcohol services: Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium...
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (25)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Marcy and her husband were amazing to work with. They helped create a special menu for our wedding (Shrimp & chicken skewers, avocado and squash on the skewers, over rice pilaf with grilled asparagus wrapped with carrot on the side). The food was beautiful and delicious and cooked onsite, which was hard to find in some caterers. Great communication & service.
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Meredith 2 Reviews
It was such a pleasure to have worked with Chef by Design Catering Co. for our wedding. We worked closely with Joanie and Marcy and cannot say enough good things about them! We were planning our wedding while living in another state and they really worked with our limited schedules to get things done. They also took a lot of work off of our shoulders by handling many of the event rentals such as the tent, dance floor, tables, chairs, napkins, silverware, glassware, bars, etc. They stuck to our vision and executed it perfectly. We really enjoyed the food tasting a few months before our big day, but hearing how amazing the food was from our guests was even better! Chef by Design Catering Co., Marcy, and Joanie turned our dream wedding day into a reality!!
Chef by Design Catering Co. responded with the following comments:
Meredith - You guys were a DREAM for us to work with! Thank you for trusting us with so much of your special day! We wish you both the very best, and hope you will stay in touch with us! Much love ~ Marcy, Joanie and team xoxo
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We worked with Joanie and Marci at Chef by Design for my daughter's wedding a few weeks ago. Kimberly was very particular about the types of food she wanted, how she wanted it displayed, and all the details most brides aren't typically concerned with (we like food!!). Chef by Design worked with us every step of the way to make everything perfect for us. The food was outstanding, the staff was helpful and polite, and they all went the extra mile to make us and our guests feel comfortable and happy. We would absolutely recommend them and can't wait to hire them again for our next event!!
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Chef By Design was amazing. The staff was friendly and helpful and the food was to die for! I did not have to lift a finger during or after the wedding. Joanie Powell was awesome to work with and answered any questions I had. The guests loved the food and the friendly staff!!!!
Wedding: 10/04/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I actually feel emotional when I think about Marcy and Chef by Design when I think back on our beautiful wedding day on September 27th.. I don't throw around "perfect" very often. The catering was PERFECT. I grew up in VB but have lived in NYC the last 9 years, where I was a manager at the exceptional raw/vegan restaurant, Pure Food and Wine. So, good food is IMPORTANT to me: quality of ingredients, flavors, presentation... I wanted NYC standards. And CBD delivered above and beyond. My mom and I pretty much fell in love with Marcy at our tasting. She is just a doll--so sweet and warm and excited about what she does and realizing her bride's vision.. As is Joanie and the rest of her team. The amazing Chef John (Marcy's husband) is SO talented! They have a CRAZY EXTENSIVE menu, ranging from perfectly done and delicious "standards" to super creative, original dishes. I had a ton to choose from, and STILL Chef John created an *INCREDIBLE* vegan entree for us!!!!!! It was magazine worthy in taste and presentation. Everything was! Their staff at the reception were more than polite to our guests--they were happy, warm, and accommodating to all of our dear family and friends, which was SO important to me. They all had smiles on their pretty faces and looked so polished in their sleek black attire. They also made sure my husband and I actually got to eat!! We didn't want a cake so we chose a few different desserts (again, from like a thousand options!) and they were all AMAZING! And, the team packed up three huge bags of food and desserts that were awaiting us in our hotel room! They also did our bar, which was stellar, and set up ALL the rentals for the linens, tableware, chairs, etc. Also perfection. The compliments from friends and family are still flooding in. If you want not only truly amazing food and presentation, but also lovely people who are a delight to work with, hire Chef by Design. You will be so happy you did. And so will all of your guests:)
Wedding: 09/27/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We booked Chef by Design almost 1 year before my daughter's October 20, 2012 wedding. Throughout this time, we met several times to discuss her vision and do a tasting. They were so friendly and helpful. Joanie Powell was the best in helping us with the rentals, selections, and creative ideas. We received so many compliments from our guests on how great the food and the service were. They really loved the crab cakes and grits and rockfish appetizers-Yummm! Not only was the presentation beautiful, but even more importantly, the food was delicious thanks to Chef John. Their service was personal, their staff was professional and the food was of great quality. We would highly recommend them for any special event.
Wedding: 10/20/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Chef by Design crew was amazing. Joanie helped us with so many things! Everyone raved about the food for days after! Joanie and her staff really helped make the party!! She put together a seated dinner for 120 in a tent kitchen at a horse farm and the food was divine! It made it to the table warm for everyone. And as the bride and groom we made time to eat dinner!
Wedding: 04/21/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can't even begin to say how amazing Chef by Design was... As soon as I booked my wedding, I got a menu which I was literally salivating over. I picked some of the MOST delicious things I have ever tasted in my life. Had a great experience at my tasting, was able to tweak things and truly customize it to my liking. Working with Joanie was an absolute pleasure! She made the whole process so easy! She was quick to answer any questions I had and let me personalize everything but always had a very helpful perfessional opinion on things... Super thankful for that! ALL of my guests LOVED the food. I'm pretty sure it's the one thing I hear most about now! All in all, i had an EXCEPTIONAL experience!!!
Wedding: 03/30/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cheers to Chef by Design for making our wedding wonderful and absolutely delicious. We brought them the challenge of creating a vegetarian reception menu that would please our palates as well as our meat eating friends and family and they delivered with ease. People are still raving about the foods we served, specifically the mac n' cheese bites, various soups and white veggie lasagna! Yum!
We also enlisted their services for our wedding cake, which turned out beautifully. They stunned us with a 3 layer creation that shimmered and was stacked with champagne glasses - AMAZING! Then there were the cake flavors themselves - my husband isn't a huge chocolate fan and scarfed down his sample during our tasting in about 30 seconds. Their carrot cake and lemon pound were also equally as tasty.
On top of all the amazing food, the service and support we received from Chef by Design was top notch. They were there to help through every step of the way, even assisting in selecting and coordinating our rentals. I can honestly say our wedding would not have been the same without them!
Wedding: 12/31/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Nothing but compliment on the food!!! It was AMAZING!!!! If you don't get the crab cakes, then you made a HUGE mistake.....they are AWESOME!! And our guests loved them. One word of advise if you get them...get a lot of them!!!
Joanie, Marcy, and Chef John are all GREAT people and very easy to work with. My wife and I will continue to use them for parties and such now in the future. That is just a huge compliment to their quality of service.
One common phrase from our guests was, "WOW the food was awesome" and of course "Dude, are there more crab cakes"!!!
Easy selection as a caterer......They will not let you down, they are the best in town by far. Very responsive and meet/exceed all expectations!
Wedding: 10/22/2011
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Words couldn't even begin to describe how great Chef by Design is. They completely transformed my wedding into our theme and went above and beyond on anything we asked of them. Joanie was our day of coordinator and there was not ONE thing that went wrong on our wedding day. The food was DELICIOUS, fresh, and presented in a way that awed and impressed our guest. Definitely worth EVERY single penny we spent! I have no regrets in choosing Chef By Design.
Wedding: 10/22/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Getting the food right is THE most important part of a wedding. We had 4 events for our son's wedding and each was different. Once we knew Chef by Design was going to be our caterer, we stopped stressing about that! It was a breeze working with Marcy, Joanie and Chef John...actually lots of fun! They handled everything down to the smallest detail. (Their staff was the best also!) The bride and groom and their parents could then enjoy (and remember) all that was happening. The food was amazing and each event had different food and different themes! It was so memorable and delicious!
Wedding: 10/01/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This catering company is absolutely outstanding in every way. They had to change our plans for a wedding and reception on the beach to an inside wedding at the last minute due to bad weather and they responded beautifully and quickly. The food was perfect and the staff, especially the catering manager Joanie Powell, were great to work with. I recommend them very, very highly.
Wedding: 09/16/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Chef by Design catering service was exemplary! We hired them for a wedding reception in our home. From the set up of tables and chairs to serving a delicious, well cooked menu to the clean -up, I was completely delighted with their professionalism. The food was cooked perfectly and the presentation was beautiful. Our wedding guests raved about the food! They were so accommodating to our requests and even mopped my kitchen floor before they left and took the garbage with them! I would highly recommend them.
Wedding: 05/14/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Chef by Design! From the moment we met Joanie we knew she would make our wedding perfect. We were greated with hugs and a bright smile. The food we enjoyed during our tasting was delicious and was just as fresh and delicious the day of our wedding. Everything was just as we remembered during the tasting and every guest at our wedding couldn't get over how great everything was. The mashed potato bar was a hit with everyone! Joanie even went with us to help pick out our linens and figure out the table arrangements. Joanie kept us up to date on the seating chart as well as all other details for the layout of our venue. We only have wonderful things to say about Chef by Design. They make sure your event is perfect and that you don't have to worry about anything!
Wedding: 04/09/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I recently embarked on the life long journey of marriage! October 11, 2010 was our big day and as for most people we wanted the day to be perfect. I had the luxury of securing Chef by Design for our catering service. I had been to event catered by the previously and had always been impressed with their service and mostly food. Chef John, Marcy, Joanie and the staff went above and beyond to provide everything that we asked and more. You know you have a great caterer when you never even know they are there. They did a great job of anticipating needs before they would arise. The did an incredible job of tweaking our menu to meet our budget requirements. The compliments we received from friends and family were all the same: "It was a such a beautiful wedding, and the food was the best we have ever had!" If you live in Hampton Roads and are looking for catering for any event, I hope that you will choose Chef by Design! They helped make my wedding the greatest day of my life!

-Caleb Hill
Wedding: 10/11/2010
Services Used: Catering
 757-496-3900
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0