Catering St. Louis
2141 59th Street
Saint Louis, MO 63110  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors...
Bar services: Limited Bar, Open Bar
Alcohol services: Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium...
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (25)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.5/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.3/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.4/5.0)
Value:
 (3.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.1/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
1.5 out of 5.0
1.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.5
  • Professionalism:  0.5
  • Value:  2.0
  • Flexibility:  0.5
My venue was beautiful, Chinese Gardens at The Botanical Gardens, and luckily that went off without a hitch. However, dealing with Catering St. Louis was a nightmare!! I had a horrible time trying to reach someone and get the answers that I needed. Trying to call someone and get someone to call me back was ridiculous. I paid the fee and then was never sure if I actually had the spot reserved or not. I got more information from my officiant then I did from the people at Catering St. Louis. Botanical Gardens should definitely find another place to handle their business.
Wedding: 09/27/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
I highly recommend using Catering St Louis for a wedding reception. The venue was spectacular, their staff incredibly professional, and I felt comfortable on my wedding day knowing they were taking care of everything.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Catering St. Louis can do whatever your heart desires... for a price.

If you go in knowing that EVERYTHING is going to cost a lot, you will be OK.

However, I will say you get what you pay for. The food was very great, the service was great and the bartenders were great. Everything was great! They made changes up to the last minute (As long as we were adding, not taking away) and pretty much gave us everything we wanted and more. I communicated with the wedding planner continually. Since I live across the country, the wedding planning process was stressful, but working with Sandy was great. We got a lot of the decisions out of the way from the start. She had so much flexibility and was able to talk to me at off hours to work around my work schedule and the time difference. She had a lot of experience and expertise and worked with us to make our wedding perfect. The day of the wedding she went above and beyond to help us solve a decorating issue and saved the ceremony.

I would definitely recommend going into it knowing that EVERYTHING has a cost. If you have a budget make sure you outline what you need/want (table shape, decorations, who is decorating, food, happy hour...) or be sure you have plenty of room to pay for it.

BUT - In the end, our wedding was so perfect we aren't quite sure if it was real or not and we owe a lot of that to St. Louis Catering.
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Sandy from Catering St. Louis made our day just perfect. She made sure every single detail at our reception was covered and the night was flawless. Our guests kept telling me how incredible the food was and how classy everything was. I added many small details to the reception to personalize it and without me even knowing Sandy made sure that all those little touches were exactly where I wanted them to be. Thank you Sandy for all your hard work to make our night absolutely perfect. You were wonderful and we are so grateful for you and all your staff. You will be highly recommended to every bride I know!

Joe and Joann
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Such good food and great people to work with. We loved them so much that my parents and sister picked her wedding reception venue based on where Catering St. Louis could cater!
Wedding: 07/06/2013
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From start to finish, Rhonda and everyone at Catering St. Louis were fabulous to work with. They were a huge help in making sure our wedding vision came to life. Rhonda was professional, diligent and all around a delight to work with - I highly recommend her. The entire day went so smoothly, and even at the end of the night they packed everything away so we didn't have to worry about a thing. We received many compliments on the food and the service from our guests. Thank you for making our wedding day so beautiful and memorable!
Wedding: 04/06/2013
Services Used: Catering
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Sandy was great to work with. She was readily available via telephone/email and she coordinated and ran a great reception. The food was delicious.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amanda 3 Reviews
From the very beginning of our wedding plans, Catering St. Louis takes the prize for professionalism. They discussed every detail with us ahead of time, from the tastings to the table decor. Mark and Rhonda were the best, and there beginning to end. They showed us different venues, answered every email promptly, answered every question and made special accomodations for our requests. They were even present for the wedding itself, making sure that they personally saw to every last detail. My wedding was at the Artists' Guild, ceremony and all. It must have been a challenge for them to do an ourdoor ceremony, accomodate the quartetet's temperature demands with heaters, run extension cords to the priest, bring us drinking during our portraits after the ceremony, and have extra vegetarian options available for those who changed their minds- but I didn't notice a single hiccup the entire day. Im sure there were other surprises on the "Day-Of" but they never let me see it! Which was perfect!!! Yes, they are on the expensive side, but it was totally worth it. The steak and shrimp for dinner was 5 star quality, perfectly cooked with a warm pink center. Everyone was raving about the food and the flow of the evening, which I 100% attribute to the staff at Catering St. Louis. If you want a worry-free wedding, trust Mark and Rhonda to take care of everything. Even the things you won't think of ;)
Wedding: 09/22/2012
Services Used: Catering
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
All of the guests raved about the food. We had sandwiches, imported cheeses, beef satay, 3 kinds of sushi, pot-stickers, fruit display, and general tso's crispy chicken. Multiple people said it was the most classy wedding they have been to and really appreciated the variety of food.
Wedding: 09/02/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 9 Reviews
All the women with whom I worked at CSL were absolutely amazing, including Leasa, Lisa, Debbie, and Alayne. They responded quickly to all my emails and worked very closely with me in planning my wedding and reception (both at the amazing Missouri Botanical Gardens) from the East Coast. They catered to my travel schedule and other special needs. The food was amazing, the service spectacular, and venue unbelievable. I couldn't have asked for a more attentive staff. CSL made planning a wedding from a distance as easy as possible. Because the ceremony and reception were both hosted by CSL, they became the all-in-one wedding planner. Of course I handled the details of the florist and cake, etc., but they touched base with each vendor to make sure we were all on the same page. Although CSL might be slightly more expensive than other caterers, it's truly a bargain when you consider all the details they handle.
Wedding: 07/21/2012
Services Used: Catering
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  2.0

Anonymous 6 Reviews
The quality of the food here is undisputed, but we had trouble with hidden catches in the contract, such as the extra fee to bring in a design team or to use a vendor not included in their "preferred" list (i.e. for linens or chargers). I was disappointed in how difficult it was to resolve these issues, and as the bride it caused much more stress than it was worth to use this caterer.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Catering
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  1.0

Anonymous 2 Reviews
The venue was absolutely beautiful. We had our wedding in the Japanese Gardens and it was an amazing day. The only major issue we had was with flexibility of the coordinator that was put with our wedding party. We had some problems relating to traffic we couldn't avoid and they were not at all helpful with timing. When they give you a time bracket that is the time they want you there and ready to go and the time they want you to leave by. I felt rushed through the rehearsal and getting to the ceremony on time and I feel like with the amount we payed to hold things at their venue they should have been a bit more lenient with us. Other than then lack of flexibility it was gorgeous and I would recommend it.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Catering St. Louis was affiliated with the wedding and reception venue (Oliva on the Hill). They were great to work with. We had a tasting early on in the process, and the food is great. We had many comments about how good the food from family and friends. They are flexible to accomodate varying tastes and worked well with our dessert vendor.
Wedding: 05/19/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
The staff were friendly, patient, and very hardworking. They specialize in service and are terrific at what they do! I was an out-of-town bride and they seriously handled all of my day-of coordination! (It was included in their service for free!)

We chose to have our reception at the City Cottage. IT WAS BEAUTIFUL. The venue is creative, artistic, and has it's own lovely garden for your guests. It also is large enough for lots of folks, but small enough for everyone to get to know one another.

I would choose CSL for a wedding if I had to do it all over again!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Natalie 3 Reviews
I had my wedding at the Spink Pavilion in May and it was a fantastic experience. Carleen at Catering St. Louis is amazing. She was really easy to work with and surprisingly flexible about things, like helping me find the perfect table linen and working with my Dad the Wine-o to find suitable wines for the reception. She truly made planning the reception an enjoyable experience. As far as price goes, it is a little bit up there but definitely worth it for the professionalism. I will say that the food on the wedding day was not as good as it was in our tasting, which was a slight disappointment. It was still good but not mind-blowing. Would definitely still recommend though, and all their sites are gorgeous!!

Thank you Carleen and Leasa for your dedication to my wedding!!!
Wedding: 05/28/2011
Services Used: Catering
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When we picked the St. Louis Artists' Guild for our reception and we were told we had to use a specific catering company, I was a bit afraid...but Catering St. Louis was great!

Our coordinator Lisa was wonderful and responsive (usually emailed back within minutes...)

All my guests raved that the venue and the service was impeccable--bartender had your drink ready before you got all the way to the bar, food was amazing, etc. The staff even gave me all the leftovers to take home afterwards-- which fed all the out of town guests the next day too...awesome!

The price tag was on the high side, but that comes with the venue we picked and the service as we expected.

I would recommend Catering St. Louis highly if you are looking into one of their venues!

Wedding: 05/07/2011
Services Used: Catering
 314-961-7588
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0