carlos bakery
95 washington st
Hoboken, NJ 07030  | map
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (85)   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.4/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Nanette &... 4 Reviews
Carlos bakery was awesome I went and met the head decorator Mauro n immediately picked a beautiful cake,I wanted to add a few extras to it so I had numerous discussion about the cake I ,with Angelo , he was patient and he answered my call every time. Not only was the cake beautiful it was delicious. Carlos Bakery isn't just a reality show type of bakery with a lot of hype ,they truly are the real deal. My cake was so good , I picked a black&white cake with fudge filling ,it was square ,with beautiful roses&catalily ,with a few extras ,it so breath taking and delicious. I extremely overwhelmed by it. Thank u Carlos Bakery
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The team at Carlos was great to work with and reassured me throughout the process that I didn't have to worry about anything. And, they were right! The cake and black and white cookie favors were a hit - looked beautiful and so delicious. The only snag was that their selection offered through our contract was disappointingly limited (they have a pre set contract with our venue). However, his team went out of their way to figure out a way to make the cake I was looking for and were so accommodating from that point forward. It was a great experience for both us and our guests!
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 8 Reviews
Everyone knows Carlos Bakery from TV but we had the best experience as Hoboken-ites. The price tag was not cheap but MAN the cake was so beautiful and delicious. They completely matched our vision.

I still have guests asking me if there are any leftovers. You know the cake is good when people say they ate two slices at your wedding!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Excellent job with the cake, delicious!!
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
I love simple, floral elegance, and Carlos Bakery has such lovely designs. The cake on my wedding day was even more beautiful than what I viewed at our tasting.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
GORGEOUS cake, and absolutely delicious. I am trying so hard not to take the top piece out of the freezer (the wedding was this past Saturday). The tasting was such a good experience and they gave me exactly what I wanted.
Wedding: 05/18/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Carlo's Bakery is very easy to work with. I never thought picking out our cake would be so easy. They will work with you to make sure you get exactly what you want.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Absolutely delicious! We got married at the Hyatt Jersey City, so the cake was included as a part of our package with our venue. Carlos lived up to its reputation and then some! We had our consultation with Mauro - he made it really easy for us - we ended up choosing the chocolate top and vanilla bottom with chocolate ganache in the center - fantastic!
Wedding: 04/27/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

ENB 5 Reviews
We were really on the fence with going with these guys since they are a huge tourist destination. Our fears all went away once we met with Mauro. What a genuinely nice guy and also very knowledgable.

We will be absolutely returning for occasion cakes from here on out.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Carlyle 7 Reviews
This is the 3rd time we have gone to Carlo's for a cake and it just keeps getting better. Our wedding cake exceeded our expectations. It was fabulous!!! Such a highlight of the wedding! And most importantly it tasted great!! We worked with Mary to design our unique cake and we got exactly what we wanted and then some. They are an amazing family and it was important for us to use a family business. They take such care and consideration. The cake was so beautiful it hurt to cut into it. I will definitely keep on using them.
Wedding: 03/30/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our cake was absolutly beautiful and even better it was delicious! The whole process was easy and flawless. It was a sress free experience. Our guests raved at how great it was.
Wedding: 03/23/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I have watched the show Cake Boss a few times with my fiancée and luckily work close in proximity to the bakery located in Hoboken NJ. I have often enjoyed pastries and sweets with coworkers from the many selections at the bakery. However when we booked our wedding at the Liberty House we were overjoyed to know that our package came with a cake from Carlos Bakery.

In the beginning we were quite nervous that the cake may not be as good as the individual smaller pastries we have had in the past. We booked our cake tasting and brought along my sister and her boyfriend. From the moment our booking was accepted for the tasting everything was extremely simple and a bit of stress automatically lifted. Mauro assisted us in the tasting and was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. He made our appointment move smoothly and helped provide us with a perfect memory of something we initially thought would be yet another wedding preparation. We selected our cake flavors ( there were many delicious ones to choose from) and requested to have butterflies with our flowers that we spotted on another cake we saw in the room. We explained that our daughter absolutely loved butterflies and she would be ecstatic to see them on the cake. It was not a problem and although it was an added price it was extremely reasonable.

The day of our wedding the cake was absolutely beautiful with every detail that was agreed upon. Our daughter loved the butterflies and we heard nothing but compliments on the cake's beauty. The taste was perfect and exactly what we recalled from our tasting. Although as tradition couples usually save the top cake tier for their 1 year anniversary we decided to devour it while fresh and order a smaller one next year for our anniversary. We just couldn’t let a good thing wait so long!
Wedding: 02/23/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Carlos bakery was so amazing. In light of the hurricane ( sandy) and the bakery being in Hoboken/ Jersey City, they still made sure I had the exact cake we planned on the day of my wedding ( which changed locations to NYC). It was delicious and the name speaks for itself.
Wedding: 11/03/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  2.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I got married in October of this past year. I went with a wedding venue that worked with Carlo's Bakery specifically. I went to the cake consultation at Carlo's warehouse and handed them a picture of what I wanted on my cake. It was honestly my "dream cake!" It had tons of leaves all over it. I was contemplating decorating it myself with store-bought items, but they said that would be hard to do. I paid extra money to have them decorate it with leaves, and I have to say that I was really disappointed with how it came out. There were hardly ANY leaves/pumpkins (another thing I wanted) on the cake! It turned out looking very plain! I was just overall disappointed because I paid extra money (a good amount too) for leaves/pumpkins to be added, and if you compare the picture that I have to the actual cake, they look like two completely different cakes!

The cake's flavors were good, but the rest was disappointing.
Wedding: 10/26/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Dawn 9 Reviews
Our wedding cake was perfect for our event. We chose a black and white multiple layered cake with the NYC skyline as a border. The cake itself was delicious, we chose red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting and were pleased that it was moist and tasted just like we'd had at our cake tasting with Mauro the pastry chef. He was a great help in choosing what to serve to our guests based upon what we like. Mauro was funny and made the whole experience top notch. I can't tell you how many people told me that they were instructed to get a piece of our wedding cake to take home for sampling, we were afraid we'd run out of cake to serve! Joking aside, Carlos Bakery survived Sandy and will definitely receive our bakery business in the future.
Wedding: 10/20/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wife and I as part of our deal with the Liberty House got a deal with the famous Carlo's Bakery in Hoboken. Our out of town guests loved this since their children watch the TV show. We got to pick from 18 different cake styles and 12 different cake flavors in person. You could even have each layer of cake a different flavor if you were torn. The tasting was very helpful since we ended up choosing several flavors we may not have otherwise. We had a little over 150 people attending, so we were able to add an extra layer for about $100 (cake is included in Liberty House contract otherwise).

Although you have to pick from a number of cake designs, there is some flexibility in taking one aspect of one design and adding it to another...like using a different cake's flowers for instance. They will even remake the top part of your cake on your anniversary for about $50 if you desire. Of all the things to worry about when planning your own wedding, this is certainly not one of them.
Wedding: 09/23/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 201-659-3671
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0