Boston Common Band + DJ Combo
The most award winning Boston Wedding Band | 80s 90s, Top40 , R&B + Classic Rock
    60 Reviews
Boston, MA 02116  | map
Agency or Band: Band
Band size: Large (6+ musicians)
Genres: 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Blues, Classic Rock, Country...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (60)   Photos   Videos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Boston Common Band did a terrific job for our July 5th wedding - they made sure to spend plenty of time discussing the plans over the phone, were extremely thorough and professional, and were overall just a GREAT Band that every guest at our wedding loved. Everyone commented on how there was not one person sitting down - they truly got EVERYONE involved and the crowd was just electric due to the Band's awesome energy. From the intro's to the song selections, they knew exactly how to make it an unbelievably fun night. They even had some break dancers which was a great and unexpected addition to the fun. Highly recommend them!!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Band, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The BCB has a great set up in that the package includes 8 band members plus a DJ. The DJ plays during the band’s set breaks. They also have a keyboard player who played during cocktail hour for us. The band is extremely talented, and the DJ was also great at getting people out on the dance floor. They are very well organized with a great online system for sending them your schedule, song requests, do-not-play songs, etc. My husband had a call with DJ Shyne a week before and he helped us further figure out our entire timeline. DJ Shyne was also the MC and did an amazing job – didn’t butcher anyone’s name, timed the entrance songs perfectly. He even helped us transition from “My Girl” to gangnam style for the father-daughter dance –not an easy thing to do but he really made it work! My only small complaint was that there were a number of songs I put on our “must play” list which were never played, as far as I know. This could happen with other bands as well, not sure! I call it a small complaint though because overall I was so pleased with our choice of music, the band is so talented and played some great stuff! I should also mention that the DJ took care of our lighting for us in the venue, so we had some great uplighting, which he matched perfectly to my wedding colors. Highly recommend!
Wedding: 10/25/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Boston Common Band was hands down the best decision we made for our wedding. I think every single one of our 172 guests came up to us and said that they were unbelievable. They truly took our wedding to the next level. What an amazingly talented group. If you are looking for a great wedding band that will make your event unforgettable, look no further.
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Boston Common Band was fantastic! I was a little nervous since I hadn't actually gone to see them play, but the moment they started in on the first dance song, we knew it was going to be great! They played to the crowd and everyone at the wedding was up and dancing. I would recommend them to anyone.
Wedding: 09/01/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Michelle 2 Reviews
Boston Common Band was the best decision I ever made for my wedding! My husband and I couldn't have been happier with everything they did for us that night. From the vocals, to the lighting and to the overall sound of the band, just awesome. They kept our wedding guests entertained from the moment they walked into our venue until the moment they walked out! All guests were up and dancing the entire night. They were super easy, flexible and so much fun to work with. They were able to accommodate a pianist for our cocktail hour, live band and DJ all in one night, the ultimate perfect combination. Guests to this day keep saying how awesome the band was at our wedding. My family loved them so much that my brother booked them for his wedding this upcoming summer. Can't wait to party it up with them all again! I highly recommend them to play at any big event, you won't be disappointed!
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Boston Common Band was by far the best band we could have chosen for our wedding. They were recommended to us by a family memeber who had seen them perform at a wedding the year prior, saying it had been the best band they had ever seen at a wedding.
Our wedding was a small wedding (70 people) but the band from start to finish had the entire party out on the dance floor! They performed the best combination of classic and new hits, that had people of all ages dancing up a storm! The DJ (Josh) who MC'd the night for us, did an amazing job of keeping the party going during dinner and when the band was in between sets. We would/will highly recommend the Boston Commond Band to many of our friends and family who will marry in the future.
Wedding: 04/20/2013
Services Used: Band, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Manny 1 Reviews
These guys seriously ROCK!!!! We used the Boston Common Band for our wedding and I am trying to put the words together on how absolutely amazing this group is! Their Band and DJ package was the perfect choice for my wedding.

Planning our reception with the DJ was simple, fun, and really settled my nerves! I knew he had control of my event weeks before our big day! His announcements were perfect, and let me say that some of the names in my bridal party are fairly difficult to pronounce.

The band performance was unbelievable!! The songs they played kept people dancing all night! We didn't need to request a single song, they knew exactly what my guests wanted to hear to keep them going.

We also booked our up lighting with them, and the venue was beautiful beyond my imagination! The stage setup, lights and overall neatness of the band made my reception pictures look amazing! I would highly recommend this Band/DJ package to anyone! They are exceptional musicians, and true professionals. I'm so happy we booked them!
Wedding: 02/17/2013
Services Used: Band, DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
These guys are so fun and added so much to my wedding. I have to cop to a little bit of hesitation in signing with them based on the website. My husband and I do not fall in the typical demographic for first time bride and grooms, we are both in our 40s, and I was concerned that the band would not be able to read the room. I could not have been more wrong. In fact, I don't see how we could have possibly done better than Boston Common. They would be amazing for any age group, their repertoire is that expansive.

These guys (and girl) are not only great musicians and supremely talented, but they can dance! At one point, the dance floor was a little sparse, so a couple of the members of the band/dj team got out and totally got down to try to rile up the audience to get on the dance floor. They didn't just do their job, they went over and beyond.

As far as organization and flexibility, they were great. Jonathan and Jeff (DJ Shyne) were both great to work with and it is completely evident they know how to do this gig better than anyone.

For those brides who are looking for a band who doesn't sound like a wedding band, these are your guys (and girl). They are a level above.
Wedding: 01/12/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I cannot even begin to describe how great our experience with Boston Common was. From the moment we first spoke with them they were professional, organized, understanding and very easy to contact and quick with responses. The planning phone calls before the wedding were very helpful and was one less thing we had to worry/stress about leading up to the wedding.

Then came their performance at the wedding... Amazing! They played so many different types of songs, and the dance floor was packed from start to finish. The instrumentals were fantastic and I would definitely recommend adding the saxophone. The male and female vocals were outstanding, we were amazed how they could sing so many different types of songs.

This may seem biased, but I can honestly say they were the best wedding band we've ever seen, and we were so lucky to have them be a part of our wedding.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Band, DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
BCB - Thank you so much for the amazing job your band did at our company holiday party! You and DJ Shyne were very flexible and easy to work with. Being able to incorporate the band, DJ & uplighting was awesome and looked so professional and perfect! We highly recommend this band!
Wedding: 01/08/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
What else is there to say other than Boston Common Band was AMAZING. My fiance and I went and listened to several bands prior to booking one for our wedding. After their first note, we knew we wanted Boston Common Band to play for us. Beyond the band, they provide a DJ for breaks and a really cool light system. Value wise, there is no comparison. Book them now - it'll be the best decision you make for your wedding!
Wedding: 11/17/2012
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used the Boston Common Band for our wedding and I am trying to put the words together on how absolutely amazing this group is! Their Band and DJ package was the perfect choice for my wedding.

Planning our reception with the DJ was simple, fun, and really settled my nerves! I knew he had control of my event weeks before our big day! His announcements were perfect, and let me say that some of the names in my bridal party are fairly difficult to pronounce.

The band performance was unbelievable!! The songs they played kept people dancing all night! We didn't need to request a single song, they knew exactly what my guests wanted to hear to keep them going.

We also booked our up lighting with them, and the venue was beautiful beyond my imagination! The stage setup, lights and overall neatness of the band made my reception pictures look amazing! I would highly recommend this Band/DJ package to anyone! They are exceptional musicians, and true professionals. I'm so happy we booked them!
Wedding: 10/07/2012
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
We had Boston Common Band perform at our wedding this past September. Let me tell you, EVERYONE was on the dance floor from the moment they started playing! They were so good that my family and friends even had them perform TWO encores!

Also, since we're from NYC, they have an all online based planning system that made it super-easy for us to coordinate all of the events with their DJ. As I'm sure all of you couples know, planning all the details can be overwhelming, but with these guys, it made everything SO SO simple. Really, there's nothing more we could have asked for from Boston Common Band. I'd give them 6 stars if it were possible!!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
the Boston Common Band helped make our entire wedding magical! Everything that they did the entire evening was spot on, and nearly all of our guests that we spoke to afterwards could not stop raving about how much fun they had at our wedding, dancing and singing along all night - and we have the pictures to prove it!
Choosing vendors can be a hard thing to do, but its a pretty easy choice with these guys. From the first time we contacted them they were responsive, professional, and accommodating to all of our requests. They will learn how to play songs that you request, so your wedding reception truly feels like yours and not a standard playlist. The band also comes with a DJ package, so there is never any down time from beginning to end - and they will work with you to ensure that all of your requests are honored as much as possible (including our k-pop music!) They truly bring the party, including their own sound system, stage lighting, and set-up crew who aren't afraid to show off some dance moves!
The best part of all is that they HAVE FUN! They are enjoying the night as much as all your guests, and the energy and enthusiasm that they bring really help get the crowd into it and make the night really special. They are very versatile as well, so its easy to understand why everyone has so much fun - there is something for everyone.
Boston Common Band + DJ Combo responded with the following comments:
Mike & Kawan,

Thanks so much for your very kind words! We had an AWESOME time with your family and friends -- and WOW, what an amazing party we had together! Thank you for having us share your special day!

Please stay in touch... and we hope to see you at some of our club shows very soon!
Wedding: 09/22/2012
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We chose Boston Common to play our wedding in August of last year. They were, quite simply, AWESOME!! I can't even count the number of friends that kept saying to us that they were the best wedding band they had ever heard! Even our photographers mentioned how great they were, and I'm sure they've heard many many other bands before.

The best part about them is the fact that they are all phenomenal musicians that you can tell take pride in what they do. I really appreciated the fact that they took the time to meet with us and make sure that their style and playlist lined up with our ideas for the evening.

My husband and I already thinking of ways to have another party so we can hire them again! We fully recommend Boston Common and are so glad we had them perform at our wedding!

Wedding: 08/31/2012
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Boston Common Band was the absolute highlight of our wedding. They kept the dance floor going all night long and we couldn’t have asked for anything better. Even a month after our wedding, our friends and family are still talking about how great they were. When the band took its breaks, they had DJ Matty G step in. To be honest, we were a bit worried about Matty because he didn’t have any reviews but he did a great job keeping the party going and was exactly what we were looking for. One additional thing to note is that the band only allows for 3 song requests which get taken up by the first dance and parent dances(even if they are traditional wedding type songs). This was not an issue for us at all as the band obviously knew what they were doing and every song they played was great. We would strongly recommend Boston Common Band to any couple looking to have a blast at their reception. Thank you, Christine and Jay
Wedding: 04/28/2012
Services Used: Band
 617-840-5580
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0