Barr Mansion & Artisan Ballroom
The nation's only certified organic event facility
    51 Reviews
10463 Sprinkle Rd
Austin, TX 78754
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (51)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Blog    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Morgan... 2 Reviews
My wedding was an absolute dream thanks to Barr Mansion. The process was easy, the coordinators were dependable, and the venue was absolutely breath taking. We traveled from out of the state to make our wedding happen in Austin and the distance seemed non existent because of the coordinators hardworking attitude and high quality of service.
Wedding: 06/15/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
When I first got engaged I knew I had to go and see Barr Mansion. I had always heard how beautiful it was, and pictures do not do it justice, gorgeous! When I first contacted Barr Mansion for a showing, they were very responsive and helpful! After we decided to have the wedding brunch reception at Barr Mansion I was paired with Elyse Shumsky-Alcorn as our event coordinator. I was so lucky to have been introduced to Elyse and to have her at my side as our coordinator! She not only represents Barr Mansion with grace and class, but she also helped me tremendously with the stress and responsibilities that come with planning a wedding! She answered all emails promptly and professionally. She helps with all the tiny details that need to be taken care of. The actual wedding day: once we arrived at Barr Mansion the staff immediately greeted me, and I knew that the rest of the day would be smooth. Elyse was there right way with a water, and to offer me a glass of champagne - She then directed me to where I needed to be, in fact, she kept me on track throughout the wedding in a very discreet manner, so as not to interrupt a guest - I loved that about her, very thoughtful! She is really a terrific coordinator - she is organized, and a great communicator. The food was absolutely delicious, and I still have guests commenting about how good the food was, and how beautiful the venue was. The cakes were gorgeous, and tasted wonderful! Their efficiency in getting everything taken down was also very good, and fast! I would highly recommend working with Elyse at Barr Mansion, I had no stress, but pure Joy the whole day. Thank you Elyse and Barr Mansion for a wonderful experience.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Barr Mansion was a fabulous venue for our wedding. It accommodated 100 people perfectly and the flow from the outdoor ceremony to the indoor reception was seamless. Our wedding coordinator Thea was easy to work with and so helpful with suggestions. The food was great and our wedding cake perfect.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Renna 2 Reviews
We had such a positive experience with Barr Mansion! We especially loved our coordinater, Thea. She was top-notch; I couldn't have asked for a better coordinator!!
Wedding: 05/25/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This is the most beautiful venue! Our guests can't stop talking about how beautiful it was. Elyse took care of us like a pro and we would have given them 10 stars if it were available! The staff is fantastic and the wedding and reception went like clockwork. I would definitely recommend this venue.

B. Austin, Mother of the Bride
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ivonne 2 Reviews
Barr Mansion was absolutely gorgeous. All the staff is so friendly, helpful and flexible. Our coordinator was Thea, and we couldn't have asked for anyone better for us. She understood everything we envisioned and helped make it happen. Every detail was perfect that day thanks to the wonderful staff.
Wedding: 04/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We got married the first weekend in February, and everything turned out perfectly! The staff at Barr Mansion are incredible! The weather the day of the wedding was crazy, and the plans had to be changed the week of the wedding. I was nervous how it would all turn out since I really wanted the ceremony outside, but everything looked so great!
Elyse Shumsky is the best! She was our day of wedding coordinator and contact during all of the planning stages! She answered all of my questions, and even offered suggestions of who to use for makeup, tent rental, etc. SHE IS AWESOME! I would have been so stressed the day of the wedding if she would not have been there!
Elyse and Andy are seriously the best! They handled any problems that came up the day of the wedding, and made sure everything started on time!
And the venue is awesome- everyone is still talking about how pretty everything was and how good the food tasted!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Elyse Shumsky-Alcorn (our day-of wedding coordinator and point-of-contact up to the wedding day itself) was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. She went above and beyond our expectations, and represented Barr Mansion incredibly well. She answered all of my emails promptly, I didn't have to worry one bit about coordination/flow issues on the day of, I was allowed to bring my photographer/parents/future in-laws on the site to show it off (just give them a heads up). Most of all, she catered to us personally (offered to grab us food and drink during the wedding reception). She gave us wonderful tips for our wedding, highlighting details my fiance and I had not even thought of. The highlight of my night was when she rescued our exit from the reception. We forgot to order sparklers, and some happened to be stored away (from previous weddings). Instead of just letting that go, she said we could use the spare ones. She revved up the crowd, and sent us on our way!!! Could NOT have asked for a better wedding coordinator...if the reception grounds and services offered alone do not convince you, Elyse is the BEST coordinator in Austin, Texas, and you'll definitely want her to help you plan your wedding.

Barr Mansion itself is beautiful!!!! Even at night, even if it was blizzarding or snowing or sleeting in Austin (threat of sleet is moderately high in Feb in Austin), the grounds are still so gorgeous. We were looking for a non-country but sweet place mixed with industrial or modern touches, and this was the place. The glass wall itself makes for an incredible backdrop in pictures (especially with the walkway lights glowing in the background at night). My friends and family kept on saying (with non-feigned enthusiasm), that the place was so elegant but not stuffy. Food was incredible! Cake and pie were incredible! Projects are in the works, I hope to see pics of it online when their additions are completed (more outside patio stuff I think). Get married/have your reception HERE!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We got married at Barr Mansion in early October 2013 and it was a fantastic experience. Barr provided us with everything we wanted in a venue: gorgeous grounds, a unique ballroom, delicious food, and an amazing coordinator.

The old Victorian house has such photogenic interiors and exteriors, which really gave the photographs an antique charm. When people see our photos, they always ask us where we got married because of how unique the spaces are especially for Texas. Guests also raved to me about the food, especially the beef tenderloin so I highly recommend having that on the menu. You can't go wrong with the food at Barr-- that part is taken care of if you book there.

One of the biggest perks of this place is that it comes with a coordinator, which in retrospect, I couldn't imagine the day without. Elyse, our coordinator, was the absolute best-- she's so organized yet low-key and efficient; plus, she's such a great person to be around and it made the wedding day all that more smooth. I miss working with her already.

Overall, Barr Mansion is a great place to get married in Austin if you're looking for something less conventional than a hotel reception and more elegant than a ranch. Plus, your photographers will thank you!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We LOVED our wedding at Barr Mansion! The facility is beautiful and provided the perfect setting for our romantic and fun wedding! We planned on getting married under the tree but due to the rain the day before we moved the ceremony inside. The windows in the ballroom gave us the feel of outside without the humidity :) it was beautiful! We worked with Elyse through our wedding process and she was great! She made sure everything was taken care of the day of the wedding so that my parents and family could enjoy the day! The guests raved about the food and how beautiful it all was!
Wedding: 09/29/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My daughter just got married at Barr Mansion! It is a beautiful venue! The historic mansion was perfect for the wedding party to dress, for "First look" photos, for people to gather, etc. The grounds are beautiful. Several ceremony sites are available on the property. Beautiful gardens, beautiful old pecan tree.....and the Artisan Ballroom is a GREAT party room. It's perfect for dinner and dancing and could also be an alternate wedding site. Our wedding coordinator was Elyse Shumsky! She was an ABSOLUTE DELIGHT to work with.....very informative, great suggestions, attentive, detail oriented....definitely "on the ball". She is a new friend and tops on my list! It was a magical evening!
Thanks Elyse and Barr Mansion! Toni Hibbs, Tyler, TX
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
Our experience at the Barr Mansion was amazing.

Our wedding coordinator was Nicole, and I cannot say enough good things about her. She was very responsive to our emails and made us feel at ease throughout the process. Her work as coordinator was SO VALUABLE the day before and day of. She kept things running really smoothly and did all the behind the scenes work for us. Our officiant went overtime, but she managed to get our wedding back on track, figuring out any changes that needed to be made for the day to run smoothly. She is a very calming presence.

The rest of the team at Barr Mansion is wonderful as well. My Dad remarked that the bartenders and staff were very pleasant and friendly. Being able to provide our own alcohol was a huge plus for us.

The food...I can't rave about it enough. We did a buffet for 175 people and Nicole made sure that process went smoothly so there was never a long line. The food we choose was delicious day of...SO MUCH BETTER than your average wedding food. The pizza was exceptional. Some people told my Dad the wedding cake was the best wedding cake they had ever tasted. Not only that, but the cake designer worked with my florist and did a stunning job with our cake. It was literally the most beautiful wedding cake I had ever seen---exactly what I had in mind.

The grounds of Barr Mansion were beautiful for our outdoor ceremony. The ballroom was nice and cool in July and easily had space for our 175 guests (setting up additional outside bar worked well as well--there was never a long line at the bar).

In terms of value, we picked a Friday, which gave us a discount. When you calculate all that Barr Mansion includes, I really do feel that it is a value in the Austin wedding market. If we had to deal with hiring a separate caterer, linen provider, wedding coordinator, cake baker, clean up crew, bartenders, etc, etc, our wedding would have been more expensive.

Our day really was perfect.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I think it's every little girl's dream to feel like a princess on her wedding day... and I felt just that! Barr Mansion's staff, grounds, food, ambiance etc etc etc contributed to the best day of my life to date. Elyse Shumsky was my coordinator for the months before the wedding and the day-of the wedding, and I doubt, no, I KNOW the day could not have gone as smoothly without her direction. For the months prior Elyse was responsive to all of my 349857305 questions and she truly made the planning process as much of a breeze as I could have asked for. On the day of the wedding I received compliments from the wedding party and my family about how on-the-ball she was, which put my mind at ease. THANK YOU BARR MANSION AND THANK YOU ELYSE!! :))
Wedding: 05/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding day was absolutely perfect thanks to Barr Mansion.

The thing that drew us to Barr Mansion (other than the stunning venue) was that Rick and Elyse would be there throughout the planning process and would take care of us on the day of the wedding. Both Elyse and Rick were very quick to respond and always patient in answering any questions we had during the planning process. It was definitely a great feeling showing up on our wedding day knowing that our day would be in good hands.

We were married under the pecan tree in late April and the grounds were STUNNING. If you can snag a date in late April/early May DO IT! The weather was comfortable, the tree had leafed out, the grass was bright green and all the spring flowers were in bloom. The appetizers, dinner and wedding cake were all delicious and we even took advantage of the brick oven to have a late night pizza snack for all our guests. One thing we really liked about Barr Mansion was that we were able to provide the alcohol, which really made a difference in our alcohol budget compared to the pricey "alcohol packages" offered by most wedding venues.

Everyone kept telling me that "something always goes wrong on your wedding day" but that couldn't have been further from the truth when it came to our wedding. Elyse ran everything so smoothly that we never had to worry about a single thing. She kept us on schedule but was never pushy and worked with our DJ to make sure everyone knew what was happening. The evening went by so quickly, but we were both able to relax and enjoy the moment with our friends and family which, in the end, is exactly what everyone wants for their wedding.

I couldn't recommend Barr Mansion and their incredible staff more. They truly made our wedding perfect. Thank you, Elyse, Rick and Barr Mansion!
Wedding: 04/27/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were so lucky to have Elyse Shumsky as the coordinator for my daughter’s wedding at Barr Mansion. The entire event was perfectly planned and flawlessly executed. The ceremony and reception ran smoothly and right on schedule allowing us to relax and enjoy every moment. She was always available without being intrusive. Elyse is extremely professional, incredibly well-organized, very attentive to detail, highly creative, and a pleasure to work with. I can’t imagine how we would have managed without her.
Wedding: 02/23/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Barr Mansion really doesn't need much of a review, because if you look at the pictures, you can see how stunningly beautiful it is. The people who work there are just as great, and honestly, I think you get a lot of value for your money. SO much is included in their package and that makes everything else so much easier, limiting the vendors you have to research.

Rick was great and easy to work with. It was wonderful having a day-of coordinator that really knew the venue and all of the other vendors. Obviously, the house and reception hall were beautiful, and the pictures will be great no matter where you are on the property. We got many compliments on how great the food was (organic!) and how beautiful the venue was. The Barr Mansion was really an easy choice to make.
Wedding: 05/25/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 512-926-6907
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0