Bar Harbor Catering Company
Modern. Maine. Love.
    22 Reviews
882 State highway 3
Bar Harbor, ME 04609  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French...
Bar services: Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
Alcohol services: Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium...
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (22)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We can not say enough good things about Mandy and her staff at Bar Harbor Catering Company. First things first, the food was amazing from the apps (spring rolls, crab cakes, tempura shrimp, bruschetta bar), to the main dishes (prime rib, chicken, veggie stack and scallops w/ sides) to the desserts (pies & ice cream!) also homemade bread, salads and dressings. We also had BHC do our lobster bake rehearsal dinner which all our guest loved! Everything was delicious! I truly wish I lived closer and could call up Mandy to order dinner from her some nights because I have been craving all our wedding food!
Mandy is there with you through your whole wedding planning process and really goes above and beyond in ever aspect. Emails are answered promptly, she has great ideas and suggestions for decorations, etc., she sets up and dismantles your entire wedding and really has an eye and passion for her work.
During our cocktail hour she assigned a waiter to come around with just apps for us, if people tried to take one the waiter would politely say that these were for the bride and groom only. There was also another waiter assigned to our bridal party to make sure we all ate and got to try all the apps. We thought this was awesome! Looking back now if she hadn't done this then I doubt I would have had a chance to eat!
We had late night snacks of cheeseburger sliders, sweet potato fries and flat bread pizzas, these were amazing and everyone ranted and raved about them!
At the end of the night they sent us home with doggie bags of some bruschetta and late night snacks to have back at the hotel.
When we arrived at our venue the next morning to clean up, the place was spotless, all our decorations were packed away & organized and all our left over pies were packed up and ready to be taken home to eat at a later date.
Like I said, we cant say enough great things about BHC! Everything was just simply amazing and I would recommend using them for any event!

Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Olivia 1 Reviews
Bar Harbor Catering Company was a pleasure to work with. The food was OUTSTANDING....as was the service and presentation....they even helped with design. Experience could not have been better!!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My new husband and I absolutely cannot sing enough praises about Bar Harbor Catering Company to do justice to the remarkable catering work that Mandy & her staff provided at our rustic chic Maine wedding! From the extraordinary tasting we attended last year to the full evolution of our wedding fare, Mandy was so accommodating and easy to work with, incorporating all of our requests into the most incredible edible experience. The staff were extremely considerate and friendly, and provided skillful professional service. All of our guests were blown away by the delicious food and we kept getting feedback that the food was a world apart from traditional wedding fare. Every little detail was paid meticulous attention to and we were so happy that plates were prepared for us so that we wouldn't miss out on the wonderful nourishment! Mandy even provided an impromptu addition to the menu for a few of the youngsters at the reception with not-so-adventurous palates. We highly recommend Bar Harbor Catering Company to you for whatever your occasion may be, and we are positive that Mandy & her staff will provide you with impeccable cuisine and expert service.
Wedding: 09/01/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Melissa 1 Reviews
From start to finish Mandy was a pleasure to work with. She was always responsive and flexible to the ideas we had. The food was simply delicious at our wedding. I appreciate the care she and her staff took to make our day special. Sincerely Melissa & Mark Dupuis San Francisco, CA
Wedding: 08/03/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Rani 1 Reviews
The food was excellent and the set up was everything we imagined and more. Everyone also kept complimenting how kind and accomodating the staff was! They also made sure my husband and I were taken care of by bringing us our own special tray of the appetizers, making sure we got our own chance to eat! The dinner set up was absolutely beautiful with every little detail you could every want. Mandy is wonderful to work with, very easy-going and accomodating.Thank you so, so much for making our special day absolutely perfect!
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Dana 1 Reviews
Mandy and the Bar Harbor Catering Company team is absolutely incredible. Above and beyond the incredible food (think new restaurant with a wait, NOT generic wedding dishes), personalized planning, and responsiveness to our detail-oriented bridal behavior, BHCC was the solitary breath of fresh air surrounding our big day. Despite endless rain, moving the ceremony one day before, and more or less every other thing that could have gone wrong, Mandy and Co. kept us calm and kept the evening moving flawlessly with the same attention to detail and quality. We couldn't have been happier.
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alyson 1 Reviews
Mandy and her staff were outstanding, and she went above and beyond---helping us with small details, coordinating things, and even running out for plastic cups when we ran short on time. The food was amazing, and everyone loved it. We will recommend Mandy to everyone who is needing an event catered on the island, and we will certainly use her for future events. ~Alyson Gill and Eric Cave
Wedding: 08/03/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mandy was the absolute best. She took care of EVERYTHING - even picked up my cake for me! She put me at ease about everything, was extremely accommodating, and super nice.

The food was beautiful and delicious. It was perfect. Everyone was super impressed at how good the food and catering was. I trust and recommend Bar Harbor Catering 100%
Wedding: 06/23/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
Great food & professional staff. Highly recommended!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mandy and Bar Harbor Catering was absolutely amazing! I met Mandy when I asked her if she had any food samples to taste before we booked her and did an official tasting. She showed up at our house with a lobster pot-pie and we booked her immediately. Bar Harbor catering continued to impress us at the tasting where everything was so delicious that we couldn't even make decisions on what food to pick. We were worried that scaling up from a small tasting with 4 people to a wedding with 150 people might drop the quality of the food, but all of our guests were raving about the food all night. People said it was not only the best food they had at a wedding, but the best food they had ever. I cannot say enough about how impressed I am by Bar Harbor Catering Company. I would recommend them to any bride in the area.
Wedding: 09/10/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Absolutely the best food any of my guests have experienced at a wedding. Everyone raved! Some even said it was the best food they ever taste anywhere! Every detail was perfect and Mandy and her staff bent over backwards to meet all of our wishes. My daughter was the happiest bride I have ever seen.
Wedding: 09/10/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I know 5 stars proabably seem gratuitous or false, but my wife and I truly cannot say enough about Mandy and her staff at Bar Harbor Catering. She catered our wedding on MDI which was no easy task, we had to bring in everyhting from tents and chairs, right down to the kitchen to prepare all the food, and the outcome couldn't have been better. From the start Mandy worked with us on tailoring every aspect to our liking, even providing suggestions that we hadn't thought of. All of our guests are still raving about the variety and quality of the food...from the traditional prime rib, lobster sliders and even our requested Philly inspired "cheesesteak eggrolls".

Her and her staff are extrememely professional and handled all the details with care and extreme detail, we truly would have been lost without her. It was the first event of this size my wife and I have planned, so having her expertise at our disposal was invaluable.

I would use Bar Harbor Catering in a second, and suggest them to anyone planning an event large or small where spending time with your guests comes before spending time cooking.

Thank you
Jen and Nate
Wedding: 06/18/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Merrilee 5 Reviews
Mandy and her staff at Bar Harbor Catering Company were professional and courteous. I had guests with special dietary needs and they said that the wait staff remembered and catered to them and their needs all night. Everyone including us agreed that this was the best wedding food they had ever had. The hors d'oeuvres were out of this world. Form start to finish - the catering was amazing.
Wedding: 09/25/2010
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mandy was professional, courteous, responsive and willing to work with our specific needs and desires. Her staff was pleasant and easy to work with. No complaints. The food was amazing, many guests commented.
Wedding: 09/18/2010
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We're extremely happy with the quality of the food and received many compliments from our guests. The service was excellent. Everything was executed according to our arrangement without a hitch. The whole package was well worth the price.
Wedding: 09/05/2010
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kim and Chris 1 Reviews
We were so lucky to have found Bar Harbor Catering. They were very open to our nontraditional ideas, and gave us great ideas of their own as well. They were easy to communicate with and very flexible. Everyone was extremely professional and very nice to us and our families. The set up of walking around with passed apps and then the buffet dinner worked beautifully. Most of all, the food was fabulous!!! Absolutely delicious, yummy, perfect, exactly what we wanted. We heard no negatives from our guests about the food. I only wish I was able to get more of the grilled cheese/tomato soup app, as I only had one and those were something I was most looking forward to (they were almost gone by the time myself (the bride) and my husband arrived). The only other thing was we were disappointed we could not take any of the food home (which I understand was for liability reasons). There were so many leftovers, and we were all so full, so I think a lot of our paid for food went to waste. I would absolutely use Mandy and Bar Harbor catering again, (and wish I had an excuse to).
Wedding: 09/22/2012
Services Used: Catering
 207-664-8474
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0