Avalon Entertainment
Maryland's First Choice for Wedding Entertainment Serving MD. DC. VA. & PA.
    89 Reviews
427 Ingleside Ave
Catonsville, MD 21228  | map
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (89)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
DJ Castro was amazing! He went far beyond his responsibilities as DJ. In fact, practically the first thing he did when we met at the wedding reception was offer me a cold bottle of water. He was very flexible and patient with me from the beginning and went the extra mile in everything. He even found all the special request music I asked for, including foreign songs.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jose from Avalon Entertainment went above and beyond all expectations. Not only was his communication and professionalism superb, every guest at my wedding has commented about how great the DJ has been on how on point he was with the music. I highly recommend Avalon Entertainment for your next event for a DJ. Thanks again Jose for everything.
Paul and Erin.
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jose Castro was our DJ and provided the ceremony music as well for our wedding. He was very good at keeping the tempo and energy of the event appropriate and fun. He was very considerate of our wishes and didn't let our guests hijack the entire playlist (we had one group dance that he got our permission for first!). Jose was very organized and made sure everyone was were they were supposed to be, helped keep us organized and worked with our day of coordinator to make sure the whole evening went off without a hitch. My husband and I were incredibly pleased with the quality and professionalism of Avalon Entertainments services, would strongly recommend to other event holders in the Baltimore metro area.
Wedding: 05/25/2014
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Letizia 1 Reviews
Jose was our DJ and MC for our wedding and he was fantastic! His price was very reasonable compared to some of the quotes we were getting in the area. He listened to our requests and had many helpful suggestions and he was always professional. Me had 2 meetings with him before the wedding, one of which was at the venue, to ensure that he knew how things were going to go the day of. And, it was good to run through the timeline with him and details of name pronunciations and music selections etc. Our music was a mix of pop/R&B and Latin and he did a great job mixing the genres. I also sang for my husband as a surprise and Jose helped me figure out when that would work best, plus he had superb equipment! He was also a great MC, we had a wedding planner so that helped but he communicated well with everyone to keep things on schedule and making announcements as needed. Most importantly, we always felt that he did whatever would make us happy, like changing a song during the reception even thought it was on our list, or adding a song last minute. I highly recommend Avalon Entertainment for any wedding or event!
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I have worked with Jose for the past few years on various events as a wedding planner and banquet captain. I knew right away that I wanted him to DJ my wedding. He is very responsive and understands every client's needs. There were a number of difficult song switches and mixes that I needed, and he performed those with ease. Everyone had a great time at my wedding and he played exactly what I wanted him to.

I wanted my cocktail hour to be all New Orleans Jazz Music and he presented some wonderful ideas for incorporating zydeco. He is awesome to collaborate with.

If you want your wedding or event to run smooth by a calm and collected person, you've found your DJ!
Wedding: 04/25/2014
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Thomas 1 Reviews
Awesome. He is able to look at a room and know what song to play to get people moving. great value and service. you wont regret having this guy DJ your event.
Wedding: 09/20/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Emily 1 Reviews
Jose Castro was great! All the music choices were arranged in a wonderful manor that appealed to people of all ages. My requests were played, as well as what I didn't want, and last minute requests were granted.
Wedding: 07/27/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lauren 3 Reviews
I have recently worked with DJ Jose Castro at Avalon Entertainment for a wedding this spring and I have to say he was a breeze to work with! With such a busy schedule, he made it so simple to complete any information or lists needed. Prior to the event, and day-of, he was great with troubleshooting any obstacle. He was able to really connect with the crowd and really fed off the vibe of the party. I would highly recommend him to anyone planning an event!
Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Dan 1 Reviews
Out of all the vendors we worked with or our wedding, Jose at Avalon Entertainment is the only one I would unqualifiedly recommend to anyone looking for a DJ. He was professional, did a great job and was very easy to work with. Most importantly, he made the entire process less stressful for us- the most important quality in any wedding vendor.
Wedding: 05/26/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Larry 1 Reviews
DJ Cristian Rogers was our DJ and we could not have had a better person to lead us through the evening on our wedding day. We had many compliments from our guests about how the music choices kept everyone on the dancefloor all night. We also worked with the owner of Avalon who helped us with great ideas that no one else we had met with before had suggested.
Wedding: 04/13/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Stephanie 8 Reviews
Jose Castro was great. He has an amazing music selection. He was very professional during pre-wedding meetings and offered good suggestions for timeline and songs. He read our crowd very well and kept the dance floor full the entire evening. He listened to our suggestions and played the songs we wanted as well as others he thought the crowd would enjoy. I highly recommend his DJ services.
Wedding: 03/16/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Andy 1 Reviews
Jose DJed our wedding for us (including ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception). Very professional and prepared. Played great music. Had great suggestions for us when we met ahead of time. Pricing was very good and they did not nickle and dime us. I will recommend Jose and Avalon to all my friends.
Wedding: 11/03/2012
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kathryn 9 Reviews
DJ Jose was awesome at our wedding! As many other reviews mention, he went around to each of our tables to ask people what would get them out on the dance floor. He was able to play a mix of music with things we had asked for and things that our guests wanted to hear. We had a great group out there dancing!! Jose got a soul train going at the end of our party which was really fun. He kept things flowing well and on time (very important with our venue). He is also great about keeping the music at a good volume so people who want to dance do feel like they are at a party but those who want to sit and chat can still hear each other. We were extremely pleased!
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jose was on the ball, always very professional, and well spoken! It was a pleasure to work with him! At the wedding, he helped take charge of the reception so that everything flowed, and asked if changes were ok before doing them. Leading up to the wedding, he provided sound advice from his experience, and assured me everything would be perfect.
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 2 Reviews
Thanks to Jose our wedding was fantastic - From the very first meeting until the last dance he worked with us to help our vision come true and he was very knowledgeable. He knew how to get everyone on the dance floor from age 10 up to age 81!!!!!

Thank you Jose!!!

Judit and Brendan
Wedding: 09/07/2012
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amanda 2 Reviews
Jose Castro was the DJ at our wedding and I can't even begin to explain how amazing he was. Not only was he great the day of the wedding but all the planning and details the weeks and months prior, he was perfect! We planned our wedding from across the country and he always responded immediately to emails and was available to meet when it worked for us when we were in town. He was so knowledgeable about every genre of music, we were very impressed. Our guests loved the music and him, we had so many people on the dance floor enjoying their night. Jose knew when to play what. What makes Jose even more special is he was the DJ at my parents wedding 16 years ago. We were so honored to have him DJ our wedding as well. I couldn't thank Jose enough for all he did for our big day. He truly cares about his clients needs and will go above and beyond to meet their expectations.
Wedding: 07/07/2012
Services Used: DJ
 410-206-7947
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0